General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

The Empire
level1
level1

Question from new player. "Tips and tricks?"

Postby The Empire » Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:24 am

Greatings forum members.
My name is Peter. I am totally new to the game DEFCON and this forum.
I was wondering if there were any tips or tricks in the game.
Also any suggestions about strategy.
I plan on just playing against AI till I learn more about the game.
Any info or instructions I would be greatly apreciative.
-Pete (aka The Empire).
Feud
level5
level5

Postby Feud » Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:35 am

Well, there are numerous threads dealing with tactics. The main advice I give to new players is to not give up, spectate games that have players from the forum playing in them (not all, but many of the forum players are of slightly better quality then the random people you find), spectate games that don't have any forum names in them (we can get stuffy in our tactics, fresh ideas are a good way to grow), and lastly, don't think you have to do "x" in order to be good. Every player is different, and what works for some doesn't work for others.

Oh yeah, and no matter what, remember that it is just a game! Too many people seem to forget that.
caranthir.pkk
level3
level3

Postby caranthir.pkk » Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:01 am

Keep your silos together, out of the radar range of the enemy and learn how to use a navy ;)
torig
level5
level5

Postby torig » Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:05 am

Search the forums for the beam attack, which will make your bomber strikes a lot more efficient.
Micro fighters and bombers, as having better micro skills than someone else will help you out.
Read the topic called Defcon school.

Don't trust Feud. He's got long ears!
The Empire
level1
level1

How can I maneuver my navy?

Postby The Empire » Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:32 am

Thank you for the advice, keep it coming.
I started reading some posts, but I was disappointed about the back biting and mean spiritedness among the forum members.