DedCon servers

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

keger
level1
level1
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:02 am

Postby keger » Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:06 pm

Wooh, old thread !

Anyway, as you can see, the AKE Group servers are back online since a couple of weeks. Uptime is 100 % and we didn't have any message telling us there are any problem on the servers (on the contrary).

The previous problem we had and that made us shut down the servers has been found and wasn't dedcon/defcon-related : it was a conflict between a software running on our machine and the SLUB allocator that was introduced with the kernel 2.6.22 update of July 8th.

The machine also changed, and is now :
Pentium Dual Core E2180 2.0 Ghz
1 GB RAM
750 GB HD
100 mbps unmetered

It is still located in Paris, France.

We might launch a third server on it soon, just need to buy the key.

The running Dedcon version is always the latest.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:19 pm

Groovy! Maybe you already posted it, but are recordings of the games available?

In less important news from DedCon Test, I'm moving the two hour break (because of the forced connection reset every 24 hours) into the morning hours for Europe, where we should be working/learning and the Americans should be sleeping. No servers will be started from 8 AM GMT to 10 AM GMT.
User avatar
Hyperion
level5
level5
Posts: 2102
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:26 am
Location: England, UK

Postby Hyperion » Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:31 pm

Hey bert, i had another instance of trying to get back into a dedcon and it telling me my key was duplicate because my I.P changed? will this be a common occurance? (<--- simply because i don't know how to stop my I.P apparently changing when i'm trying to reconnect).
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:51 pm

Hmm, the logs don't show a duplicate key event. I'll add more diagnostic messages.
keger
level1
level1
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:02 am

Postby keger » Fri Oct 05, 2007 12:20 am

Groovy! Maybe you already posted it, but are recordings of the games available?
No :/ To be honest I don't really read the changelog when updating Dedcon, so I don't really know what are the cool things we can do now :p
But I'll look into it.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:20 pm

Gwawedigging!

Small change to the DedCon Test Duel servers. I flexed my scripting muscles a bit and now there are more demo keys available between them, which allows me to keep them advertised on the internet as long as it takes for the game to finish. You won't need to write down the connection info any more if you fear you could drop from a game there. Consequently, during the time they are advertised, the password stays set so they don't attract griefing spectators.

The same change was done to the Demo Mode servers, but they drop from the metaserver as soon as the game starts anyway, so nothing much is gained.
User avatar
Cobra Commander
level4
level4
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:30 pm
Location: Santiago

Postby Cobra Commander » Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:27 pm

Help I want to set up my totally random premium server but am useless with all this stuff!!!!

WHO CAN HELP?
User avatar
(MOR)
level5
level5
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Morocco
Contact:

Postby (MOR) » Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:42 pm

Cobra Commander wrote:Help I want to set up my totally random premium server but am useless with all this stuff!!!!

WHO CAN HELP?



Just read what I sent you yesterday..
User avatar
Cobra Commander
level4
level4
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:30 pm
Location: Santiago

Postby Cobra Commander » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:55 pm

(MOR) wrote:
Cobra Commander wrote:Help I want to set up my totally random premium server but am useless with all this stuff!!!!

WHO CAN HELP?



Just read what I sent you yesterday..


I am geek computer science speak rubbish.

I dont like lists and orders and annoyingly similar terminology and ports and command prompts and...
User avatar
(MOR)
level5
level5
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Morocco
Contact:

Postby (MOR) » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:58 pm

let me time for my Ladder match and we setup your server step by step 8)
User avatar
Cobra Commander
level4
level4
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:30 pm
Location: Santiago

Postby Cobra Commander » Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:00 pm

(MOR) wrote:let me time for my Ladder match and we setup your server step by step 8)


What time you play MIKE? I watch

OH AND THANKS!!!!!!!
microchip08
level5
level5
Posts: 1186
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:37 pm
Contact:

Postby microchip08 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:27 pm

(MOR) & Cobra being nice? WOW!
User avatar
(MOR)
level5
level5
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Morocco
Contact:

Postby (MOR) » Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:35 pm

<Cobra step by step>

1-Install

Image

2-Choose Install Location

Image

3-Run DedCon

Image

4-Unblock DedCon

Image

5-Clik on Edit Authkey

Image

6-Edit Authkey

Image

7-Like that "Remplace the demo key by your Key"

Image

8-Clik on Edit Settings 1

Image

9-Edit onfigFile1.txt

Image

10-Run DedCon Settings 1

Image

11-The end

Image


The ConfigFile.txt Copy and Past it:

Code: Select all

Include authkey
Include ConfigVersion-1.43-beta1
# put your configuration below this line

TimestampFormat %T:

Include ConfigVersion-1.43

MaxPing 500

# run for at least an hour
MinRunTime 3700

SeqIDMaxAhead 300

# slowdown budget
SlowBudgetRefill 20
SlowBudgetStart 240
SlowBudgetMax 300
SlowBudgetUseRealtime 100
SlowBudgetUse5x 0

AdvertisePlayers 3

HostName Cobra's Bot
ServerName Cobra's DedCon Totally Random

# RandomTerritories 1

PopulationPerTerritory 200

CityPopulations 3

KickVoteMin 3
KickVoteMinPlayers 2

MaxTeams 6
MinTeams 4

MaxSpectators 4
TotalBandwidth 10000
PlayerBandwidth 8000

IdleTimeGlobal 1200

# have extra low requirements to use includes
AdminLevelInclude 5

#Admin Cobra Commander~421910~1~mormymaster



The Password: mormymaster you can change it to mormypriest if you like
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:59 pm

Splendid, I'll link to that from the nonexisting Windows Step By Step page on my wiki :) Sorry, Cobra, I was too lazy to do that myself :)
User avatar
Pox
level5
level5
Posts: 1786
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Melbourne

Postby Pox » Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:18 pm

Nicely done, (MOR)... especially considering you use MacOS... dunno if I could stand windows for long enough to do that :P

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest