big world- MORE units???

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
kb5zht
level1
level1
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:01 pm
Contact:

big world- MORE units???

Postby kb5zht » Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:18 pm

When choosing the "big world" option for defcon, I saw a window that popped up that mentioned "more units".... but I have seen no more units available, nor the credits offered for custom games go above the standard 120. Is there something I am missing? I DO see radar ranges and combat ranges reduce, but no more units available....
Erasmus J Homeowner
level2
level2
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:51 pm
Location: First floor, first flat on the left

Postby Erasmus J Homeowner » Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:46 pm

i havent played Big World in a LONG time, but you should see everything doubled on 200 worldscale.....
May the blessing of the bomb almighty descend on us all, this day and forever more.
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Sun Jun 10, 2007 9:14 pm

Hmm... interesting, credits do not scale with world size. A bug perhaps?

And to answer your question, unit number scale with world size, so if you have 6 silos at normal scale, you should have 12 at 200 (bigworld) and 3 at 50. - That's what they mean by extra units on bigworld.
User avatar
kb5zht
level1
level1
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:01 pm
Contact:

Postby kb5zht » Sun Jun 10, 2007 9:48 pm

hhmmmm... maybe that's it.. maybe on the standard (non-custom) game the units double.... but on a custom game where you BUY units with credits, it doesn't (only have 120 points, just like a regular game).
User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:35 pm

Do the units cost less, perhaps?
Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.
User avatar
kb5zht
level1
level1
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:01 pm
Contact:

Postby kb5zht » Mon Jun 11, 2007 1:21 am

nope, checked and the units are all the same price..... the total number of units I purchase doesn't increase beyond that which I could normally buy in a normal (size 100) world.....

is this a game bug? who should we address this too? I welcome all defcon players out there to research this and find out for themselves what i'm talking about
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Mon Jun 11, 2007 2:46 am

kb5zht, is your name a amatuer radio call sign?
User avatar
kb5zht
level1
level1
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:01 pm
Contact:

Postby kb5zht » Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:32 am

yes, it is.... I am a general class licensed operator.
User avatar
kb5zht
level1
level1
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:01 pm
Contact:

Postby kb5zht » Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:32 am

Okay, I experimented around with various game settings... don't know if this is a bug or "working as intended", but the doubling of units in a "big world" game only occurs with the setting "variable units" off.... where the number of each kind of unit you can place is preselected. If you choose the custom option where you "buy" your units, the number of credit points remains unchanged, 120..... so if you're shooting for a game with the "most stuff" in it, that is, the capacity to fire the MOST nukes, I guess the option- though stagnant- would be to not choose the variable units option. You can have a maximum of 10 silos purchased with credits.... but if you go with "variable unit count" off, you are given 12 silos.... an extra 20 icbm's :) :) :)
Sirthomasthegreat
level3
level3
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:18 am

Postby Sirthomasthegreat » Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:39 pm

I am a technichian KG4SOI. Glad to meet you.
User avatar
kb5zht
level1
level1
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:01 pm
Contact:

Postby kb5zht » Wed Jun 13, 2007 1:38 am

there's no more code requirement faster than 5 wpm.... go ahead and upgrade :)

maybe we'll talk some night on 40 or 75 meters.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest