Beta Testers!

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:26 pm

MonkeyforaHead wrote:Just a debit card from my local bank, I wasn't aware of any other kind. How do they work, you pre-pay the company and then spend the money?

You know, usually I'm in the loop with this sort of thing, but when it comes to online purchases... heh.
Actually, my debit card came from my local bank as well, only it also has a little VISA logo in the corner. Meaning it can be used anywhere VISA is accepted.
Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:28 pm

It doesnt look like im even going to be able to beta after all.

My all-powerfull father in his never-ending wisdom decided that I should have a Limted Account on my computah :roll: meaning that I cant install anything, or create any new accounts to get round it or anything >:c

Also, Norton is a bitch. It has blocked the following list of site types:

# Humour
# Drugs/Non-Medical
# Occult/New-Age
# Interactive/Mail
# Interactive/Chat
# Intolerance
# Crime
# News! FFS.
Image

No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:13 pm

Luigi300 wrote:Of course not. What do you think we are, useful?


True. What the hell was I thinking?
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."
- Douglas Adams
User avatar
Lord_Doskias
level4
level4
Posts: 603
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:08 am
Location: over there
Contact:

Postby Lord_Doskias » Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:31 pm

bablyon5: as with uplink and darwinia, im sure defcon will be able to run without a 'proper' install
i.e. copy files out of the installer and paste them in a folder and go
besides, thats how the betas are anyway :D
Hellahulla
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:30 pm

Ooooh, betas

Postby Hellahulla » Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:48 pm

I love betas too, makes me feel important too :)
I'd like to be on the beta team for this I have to admit, if I'd have found out about Darwinia sooner I'd have wanted to be on the team for that one too.
I don't have lots of experience as a tester, I am a tester for Autodesk though, been doing that for a while, so I'm not totally useless.

So... any news on how to sign up?

Anyway Just had to get my boot in.
T'ra
Eric
MonkeyforaHead
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:03 am

Postby MonkeyforaHead » Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:28 pm

I was actually part of the closed beta test for the online demo of Worms 4, if that makes any difference. I remember they'd just finished version 11 of the demo when the publisher decided to step in and say "TIME'S UP BUT WE DIDN'T TELL YOU", and use version 10 for the final release.

******* publishers. :P
You just wasted 3 seconds of your life you'll never get back, by reading this. Sucks, don't it?
CPUforbrain
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 4:25 am
Contact:

Postby CPUforbrain » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:52 am

how is worms 4 :-p, ahhhh the game that reminds me of that movie :P.
User avatar
Gravitron
level3
level3
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:31 pm
Location: Isra(H)el
Contact:

Postby Gravitron » Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:24 pm

Bab5, just how limited is your account?
Abort boot, drop to root, format another partition, install new windows there, voila, problem solved, winXP "security" circumvented, full HD access attained.

Don't cross a BOFH. :twisted:



I need to find that beta tester guide and repost it.
iGAME...on the PC
Image
Image
Image
rippedcap
level2
level2
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 8:33 pm

Postby rippedcap » Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:07 pm

Gravitron wrote:
Don't cross a BOFH. :twisted:



theregister.co.uk reader?

-- Chris
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:15 pm

I've actually though about getting that Linux disk I got a while ago and maybe try and run some stuff of of that.
Image



No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
Darksun
level5
level5
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 7:08 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Darksun » Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:19 pm

Don't forget that Windows XP Home by default has no password on the administrator account. Reboot into safe mode and log in as administrator. You can then edit or create a new account or whatever you want.

Not that I'm advocating disobeying your parents. Maybe it would be better to talk to your dad? :P
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:24 pm

Gravitron wrote:Bab5, just how limited is your account?
Abort boot, drop to root, format another partition, install new windows there, voila, problem solved, winXP "security" circumvented, full HD access attained.


Thats given me an idea to "loosen" the security on my school network.

I have had beta experiance. Closed beta that is. And I'm not someone to go "it don't work", as I know programmers have to have at least SOME brains. After all, they coded and compiled it didn't they?
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:29 pm

Also, Gravitron, Its limited to the point where I can't install anything, un-install anything, update anything (iTunes, iPod software in particular), create new accounts, re-name my account, change my account picture, and visit certain sites, and I think, view images from those sites.
Image



No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
Rkiver
level5
level5
Posts: 6405
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby Rkiver » Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:56 pm

rippedcap wrote:
Gravitron wrote:
Don't cross a BOFH. :twisted:



theregister.co.uk reader?

-- Chris


Also a nick I earned on #uplink.

But hell yes quite a few of us read that.

Also why bother with another installation when booting in safe mode will let you give yourself back all that access?
Uplink help: Read the FAQ
User avatar
Gravitron
level3
level3
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:31 pm
Location: Isra(H)el
Contact:

Postby Gravitron » Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:03 am

People actualy bought the home edition? Wow.
Well yeah, that'll work, unless they had the brains to give it a pw.

Bab, you can probably use a proxy to view sites you're not allowed.
It could also be browser settings/firewall's doing.
Hey, can you run regedit?
iGAME...on the PC

Image

Image

Image

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests