Bering Straight poll.

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

Make the Bering Straight passable?

Yes
83
93%
No
6
7%
Undecided/other
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 89
User avatar
DueAccident
level3
level3
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 2:30 am

Bering Straight poll.

Postby DueAccident » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:06 am

I've seen various threads on the Bering Straight, so I just thought I'd make a poll asking yes or no to it, so Intro can see the general consensus (if there is one :P ) towards it, and perhaps add it, or leave it be.

Personally I am for, as Russia isn't as vunerable as all the other countries I think, in the sub respect, as only Europe can get to it really, as Europe puts lots of carriers on anti sub between the small gap between UK and Iceland, makingi t very hard to get through, especially if Europe won't let you.
This way Russia would actually have to worry about Subs, and it'd add another layer of strategy to the game, which can't really be a bad thing.
If it was very unbalanced for Russia, then it simply doesn't have to be implemented and I'd be fine with the game as it is. :)


(For anyone who doesn't know, the Bering Straight is the gap between Russia and USA at the very closest point)
User avatar
Spacemonkey
level4
level4
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:31 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby Spacemonkey » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:13 am

You could easily make a mod for it, and once the new patch comes out mods will be easy to play.
ArchAngelZXV
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:02 am

Postby ArchAngelZXV » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:59 am

The Bering Strait is already passable in the normal game map. It's just a tad glitchy in that ships from the south have to circle south towards Alaska a bit, then they begin to move northwards through it. I use the passage all the time in my games.
The Wombat
level1
level1
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:49 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Postby The Wombat » Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:56 am

I totally agree with making the Bering passable, I was extremely surprised when I realized it was not in my first game.
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Postby Angel of Death » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:18 am

The Berring is passable. I do it almost every game. It's a little tricky, but it can be done. :D
User avatar
Feud
level5
level5
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Blackacre, VA

Postby Feud » Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:11 am

I just tried it out. I can only fit through one ship at a time (as in, not assigned to a fleet), but it can certainly be done.

If you don't mind micromanagment, it definitly is do able in it's present form.
User avatar
GrandfatherBones
level1
level1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Lille, France

Postby GrandfatherBones » Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:16 am

Voted "Yes".
Would like to hear from the game designer, though, why he decided to close the straight.
Little Boy
level1
level1
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:21 pm
Location: Nottingham UK

Postby Little Boy » Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:46 am

Many Russian cities can also be sub-bombed by Africa or Asia from the Indian Ocean, so the USSR isn't as invulnerable as all that...

Also, it's Bering STRAIT meaning tight/constricted (as in straitjacket), not STRAIGHT as in 'not bent'.

*retires to underground pedant bunker*
=dB=Ed
level1
level1
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:12 pm
Location: USA

Postby =dB=Ed » Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:54 am

It is easilly done as a mod. I have it here already, along with the suez and strights of gibralter and panama. But some or all of these in the regular game with proper travel nodes for he AI to use would be great!
User avatar
mobius
level2
level2
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 9:47 am
Location: uk

Postby mobius » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:41 pm

tough call. but i will go for yes and open it up, making a coastal attack on Russia is almost impossible as there is only one way in and thats going through Europe's fleet.
Russia can deploy his entire fleet next to asia and leave europe to defend the entrance on the other side. it would be a intresting bottle neck as russia would have to place a fleet there to stop others from exploiting it.
Image
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Postby Angel of Death » Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:10 pm

No you can send and entire fleet through. I'll get a csreen shot for you.
User avatar
GrandfatherBones
level1
level1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Lille, France

Postby GrandfatherBones » Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:57 pm

tried again after reading these posts and didn't succeed. please, the screenshot !
User avatar
Angel of Death
level3
level3
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Postby Angel of Death » Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:39 pm

GrandfatherBones wrote:tried again after reading these posts and didn't succeed. please, the screenshot !



Can not give one right now, but if you position your fleet right under the small opening of the straight and command your fleet to go straight up........It will go.
User avatar
mobius
level2
level2
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 9:47 am
Location: uk

Postby mobius » Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:44 pm

I imagine that if you increase the size of the map then it will seem possible to do.
Image
User avatar
DueAccident
level3
level3
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 2:30 am

Postby DueAccident » Thu Nov 02, 2006 6:08 pm

Well I think the poll speaks for itself, it is a resounding yes. :wink:

I have tried it as well, but I can only fit 1 unit through at a time, which I never knew you could. Very intresting. :)

Also, I stand corrected, regarding the strait bit.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests