Play as austrilia! Serious!!!! Defend Sydney!! :)

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:23 am

Indeed as i have tried. :)

How would i go about putting Australia into the South-East Asia map?

Australia isnt in any of the territory maps yet. :(
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:30 am

What image editing programs do you have to use and do you know how to use them? :P
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:41 am

I've got CS2 but I can't say I'm too good at using it, lol...
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:03 am

If you know how do layers and opacity then you should be fine. Open the territory you want change as well as perhaps the coastlines.bmp. Copy the territory image and paste it as a new layer onto the coastlines image. Select the territory layer and drop its opacity to something like 50%. Now grab the colour white on the paint brush, and splosh on the bits you want to be able to place land units, having the coastlines background helps you know where "real" land is. :wink: Now use the pretre tool which grabs the colour of where you select and use it to get the grey colour. Get the paint brush out and use this colour to paint where you want sea units to be placed. With that done, you now crack out the black on the paint brush, and "erase" the stuff you don't want that territory to have. When done, copy and paste the layer back to the original territory picture and save.

Hope that makes sense because I have proof read this. :P
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:17 am

Yes it make sense fairly... :)
Thanks, ill give it a good try, and am i aloud to share the resulting files? or are they copyright.

Considering they are included in the demo I don't know. :P
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:24 am

LordSturm wrote:Thanks, ill give it a good try, and am i aloud to share the resulting files? or are they copyright.


I doubt you would get into trouble from IV for encouraging people to mod the game. Just don't selling it to your friends though. :P
Last edited by Montyphy on Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Lionel Mandrake
level2
level2
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 7:59 pm
Contact:

Postby Lionel Mandrake » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:25 am

Someone ought to make a specially-packed 'realism mod', methinks, so that files could be kept seperately and swapped whenever one wanted to play with a realistic instead of fictionalised map.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:27 am

zanzer7 is already working on a mod loader and I'm sure if enough mods are made IV will implement one themselves. In fact, zanzer7 is looking for testers of the loader, just visit his site if you're interested.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:34 am

I could make a mod loader simply enough, all it needs to do is rename folders... :)
"Surely you didn't mean to press that button just then did you?"
"No, nor will i disarm the nukes."
"Oh well, I will have my Fighters shoot them down."
"Sure you will."
"Oh NOES, ITS BEEN PATCHED!!!"
User avatar
nikeplektrum
level1
level1
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:25 pm

Postby nikeplektrum » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:34 am

this will be great at lan parties =) im going to make a map of my room with furniture as coutries

if it's cool (and not illegal), i can upload it
User avatar
Lionel Mandrake
level2
level2
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 7:59 pm
Contact:

Postby Lionel Mandrake » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:36 am

This does sound most entertaining, keep me updated, chaps!
"Sir, as an officer in Her Majesty's Air Force, it is my clear duty, under the present circumstances, to issue the recall code, upon my own authority, and bring back the Wing. If you'll excuse me, sir..."
User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:37 am

Next up, a map of ...

I don't know, you could use google earth to get good maps. :P
"Surely you didn't mean to press that button just then did you?"

"No, nor will i disarm the nukes."

"Oh well, I will have my Fighters shoot them down."

"Sure you will."

"Oh NOES, ITS BEEN PATCHED!!!"
User avatar
Lionel Mandrake
level2
level2
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 7:59 pm
Contact:

Postby Lionel Mandrake » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:38 am

What about a large game based entirely on a European theatre of war? Or one based on conflict over the Arctic Circle between the United States and the Soviet Union?
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:50 am

nikeplektrum wrote:if it's cool (and not illegal), i can upload it


I don't see what would be illegal about it.


We all just need to wait for NeoThermic's Map Maker as it's currently rather difficult to make an entire map from scratch.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
LordSturm
level4
level4
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Australia - No Nukes :(
Contact:

Postby LordSturm » Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:41 pm

Image

Yay! - If anyone still wants my southasia.bmp just pm me.
"Surely you didn't mean to press that button just then did you?"

"No, nor will i disarm the nukes."

"Oh well, I will have my Fighters shoot them down."

"Sure you will."

"Oh NOES, ITS BEEN PATCHED!!!"

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests