If I am disconnected, am I out of the game?

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

doctorfrog
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:27 pm

If I am disconnected, am I out of the game?

Postby doctorfrog » Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:41 pm

(Did a search first for "disconnected" and "reconnected.")

I have a flaky ISP that disconnects me at random. Could be every five minutes, could be every five days. How does Defcon handle disconnects? Can I reconnect to a game and go right back to playing, does a bot pick up for me until I return, am I allowed to at least spectate while I watch my country get obliterated, etc.
User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:46 pm

Hey guys, is the answer covered by NDA?
Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.
User avatar
The Soviet Union
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 8:07 pm
Contact:

Postby The Soviet Union » Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:51 pm

I like sword of the stars cuz you could get disconnected from a server then AI just takes your place and you can jump right back in, not sure *edit* is this game has that feature *edit*.
Comassion
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:34 pm

Postby Comassion » Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:57 pm

Good for SOTS- that's a fine way to handle disconnects. It would be a nice feature for Defcon (or any online game, really).
dakster
level1
level1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 1:58 pm

Postby dakster » Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:12 pm

Yeah, I'm curious about this myself. I asked on the steam forums, and the answer was someone *thought* it would allow you to reconnect, but I never heard a definitive answer. I want to play long office mode games while at work, but I'm on dialup and get disconnected every 4 hours. I was hoping for nice long all day games, and just have to reconnect every 4 hours. Can anyone answer this, or at least tell us you can't because of the NDA?
User avatar
mehrdad
level2
level2
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:26 pm
Location: Behind You!
Contact:

Postby mehrdad » Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:19 pm

well in some games you can D/C but...in this game im not sure.
User avatar
TinFoil
level2
level2
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:24 pm
Location: 64-Bit Dedicated Gaming Bubble

Postby TinFoil » Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:57 pm

In my gaming experience, you just lag for a long time. I lagged for 2 minutes once, hopped to the other end of the map because I was walking in an open space in like... BF1942. :)
Zarkow
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:54 pm
Contact:

Postby Zarkow » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:19 am

While trying to make sure I don't violate any NDA, let's just say: Don't worrie about this. This has been one of the things focused on from the start.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:23 am

I seem to remember this being mentioned somewhere in the IV section of the forum but I can't remember the thread.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
kosh
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:15 am

Postby kosh » Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:41 am

well I just disconnected from a game with a defcon.exe crash

so where's my magic "reconnect" button?
dishwasherlove
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:27 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby dishwasherlove » Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:41 am

Old thread is old.... RISE FROM YOUR GWAVE!
Bas
level2
level2
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 7:46 pm

Postby Bas » Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:43 am

Droppers are replaced by the CPU.
CyberMew
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:39 am

Postby CyberMew » Mon Oct 02, 2006 12:00 pm

kosh wrote:well I just disconnected from a game with a defcon.exe crash

so where's my magic "reconnect" button?


yes please i would like to know too. search is down atm.
User avatar
GeneticFreak
level3
level3
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Postby GeneticFreak » Mon Oct 02, 2006 12:05 pm

You can connect back to the server using same nick and same auth key.

However there are a few drawbacks as stated in these threads

http://forums.introversion.co.uk/defcon ... php?t=1990
http://forums.introversion.co.uk/defcon ... php?t=2005

The game will do a "Receiving" state, which replays everything from the start up to "this point" 2-3x faster, which in turn if the game is very far already, it will make by the time you're done Receiving game will be over...
kosh
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:15 am

Postby kosh » Mon Oct 02, 2006 3:44 pm

having it replaying is not too bad, because it usually crashes at the end of defcon 4. if it's stable into defcon3 it seems to stay up.

the problem is finding which server I was connected to!

by the time i've hunted through the list they'll already be into defcon 1 and I can forget it.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests