Page 1 of 2

CPU difficulty - Sorry if asked before

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:49 pm
by kikinchaz
Hey there,

I was wondering if it is possible to change the CPU difficulty in the game? I was wondering for playing cooperative games with friends if we could start off easy then build up the difficulty to make it more interesting in later games.

ChaZ

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:15 pm
by svack
Im pretty sure that it has been asked before, but there was no answewr due to the NDA

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:16 pm
by Montyphy
Read the manual

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:20 pm
by kikinchaz
Ah cheers sorry bout that guys. Ill give it a read now

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:22 pm
by svack
I suppose I should RTFM! :oops: :P

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:25 pm
by kikinchaz
It seems you cant change the difficulty of the CPU. Theres nothing about it in the manual. Well that sucks majorly :( Gah

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:29 pm
by svack
I wouldn't say that, it does seem that each game is highly customizable (<--spelling?)

Scaleable AI is a high possibility

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:32 pm
by jrbreen
Don't forget about AI personalities. There may not be difficulty selection, but you might be able to choose between aggressive and defensive AIs.

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:40 pm
by svack
yeah, sounds very defcon, would make an interesting game to put in a few AI players with mixed personalities

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:43 pm
by Montyphy
Like I said before, read the manual.

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:46 pm
by svack
I would have a look, but I cant get onto the manual here at work, the steam site is blocked, any other links to it?

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:46 pm
by kikinchaz
Ahh i really hope so. My friend who just got the leaked one to test it out says he cant see an option to change the difficulty of bots. But at least its finally convinced him to buy it :)

ChaZ

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:55 pm
by Avenged
LOL you mean you have the pirate version and will be buying the game anyway but you cannot see anything in the options to change the AI difficult. Sneaky post that, i like it :wink:

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:56 pm
by Montyphy
Defcon manual (mirror)


BTW, kikinchaz you should really stop advertising you and your friends pirating activties on a public forum.

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:04 pm
by kikinchaz
Avenged wrote:LOL you mean you have the pirate version and will be buying the game anyway but you cannot see anything in the options to change the AI difficult. Sneaky post that, i like it :wink:


No lol im waiting til friday, I can resist the temptation.

Well if the pirated version has got my friend to purchase the game personally i see it as a good thing. As well as bringing in money for IV, Im glad i have someone i know to nuke the hell out of on the 29th.

ChaZ