Preorder - last stage, order confirmation error

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

shamandgg
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:17 pm

Preorder - last stage, order confirmation error

Postby shamandgg » Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:32 pm

I'm getting this message on red background:
"The vendor name 'introversion' is not recognised. - Your credit card could not be authorized for this reason. Please correct any information and try again or contact us for further assistance."

I'm pretty much out of ideas. VISA informaton, billing information, shipping information, everything is 100% correct. :shock:
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:39 pm

I had that too. In my case, I clicked VISA Electron where I used a normal VISA.

Hope this helps you along...

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."
- Douglas Adams
shamandgg
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:17 pm

Postby shamandgg » Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:51 pm

That's not the case here, I'm using VISA Electron.
If I select VISA only, I get even worse message.
shamandgg
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:17 pm

Postby shamandgg » Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:31 pm

oh well.. bad luck...for me. :(
It is like my bank or something doesn't recognize Introversion as authentic firm or? :?
I'll try tommorow.
User avatar
Tom
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed May 30, 2001 1:30 am
Location: London / Heidelberg
Contact:

Postby Tom » Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:00 pm

Sorry about that... it seems we have a problem with some visa electron cards.

I'd like to say this will be a quick fix, but it probably won't be fixed until the start of next week. I think it's going to require the support of some banks and that's never a good start if you want it done fast.

We'll post up here when it's fixed... In the mean time, please bear with us!

Tom.
kabutor
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 2:20 pm

Postby kabutor » Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:04 pm

same error here :(

Oh my my...
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:09 pm

Tom wrote:Sorry about that... it seems we have a problem with some visa electron cards.

I'd like to say this will be a quick fix, but it probably won't be fixed until the start of next week. I think it's going to require the support of some banks and that's never a good start if you want it done fast.

We'll post up here when it's fixed... In the mean time, please bear with us!


How does that affect people who already successfully got through all the preorder steps when paying via Visa Electron?
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
TimberWolf
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:18 pm

Postby TimberWolf » Fri Sep 15, 2006 1:53 am

Paypal works...in case people were wondering.

And a bit off-topic: Am I the only one that plays the game-play video over and over, pretending that I actually playing the game?
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:10 am

In the case of Paypal for people trying to use their VISA cards it should work, as technically it is Paypal that does the charging as opposed to Introversion.
shamandgg
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:17 pm

Postby shamandgg » Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:33 am

Tom wrote:Sorry about that... it seems we have a problem with some visa electron cards.

I'd like to say this will be a quick fix, but it probably won't be fixed until the start of next week. I think it's going to require the support of some banks and that's never a good start if you want it done fast.

We'll post up here when it's fixed... In the mean time, please bear with us!

Tom.

If this can help us both
my bank is:
Inteligo
PKO BP SA
Poland
Cpl. Guano
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:50 am

Postby Cpl. Guano » Fri Sep 15, 2006 1:32 pm

Me too, Timberwolf. In fact I have this new 19" widescreen monitor where I plan to rolldemo Defcon 24/7. My very own NORAD Doomscreen!
BRUAHAHAHAHA!


Also have a Visa Electron, what a bummer.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Fri Sep 15, 2006 1:35 pm

I used Visa Electron with no problems. :P
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
Cpl. Guano
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:50 am

Postby Cpl. Guano » Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:01 pm

I guess that the authorization for Introversion to charge a Visa E has to propagate thru Visa's network of affiliated banks. If the process is not fully automated, that could explain why it'll take a week or so, and why some Visa work while others don't.
Atomickitten
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:03 pm
Location: SkyNet Core

Postby Atomickitten » Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:11 pm

Hi!

I was wondering if Visa Electron works if ordered from Finland? This question is aimed (lol,sorry about my use of word) mostly to any Finnish users that might hve preordered the game, or to any nice Introversion worker who might know something about this.
Finnish Visa Electron cards have had their own fair share of problems before.

Thank you.
shole
level1
level1
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 2:56 am

Postby shole » Fri Sep 15, 2006 3:02 pm

Atomickitten wrote:I was wondering if Visa Electron works if ordered from Finland?

yes and no
depends on your bank
sampo works 100%
i hear nordea works these days aswell
i don't know about other banks

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests