Introversion

The Introversion Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:57 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:53 pm 
Offline
level1
level1

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 1:54 am
Posts: 13
Hello. My question has to do with statements made both by the tutorial and the uplink guide at modlink. Both said I may need to keep an eye on my own criminal record. But why? If I don't delete my logs won't I just get disavowed? Another thing I've noticed is that sometimes after I hack a system a mission comes on about finding me. But if they already know my identity (enough to not let me accept the mission) why don't they just frame me then?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:49 pm 
Offline
level5
level5
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Posts: 6740
Location: London, England
Andorian15 wrote:
But why?


Because you can't do missions if you have a record.

Andorian15 wrote:
If I don't delete my logs won't I just get disavowed?


There are ways to get a criminal record while not being disavowed.

Andorian15 wrote:
Another thing I've noticed is that sometimes after I hack a system a mission comes on about finding me. But if they already know my identity (enough to not let me accept the mission) why don't they just frame me then?


Uplink are the ones who know your identity and are preventing you tracing yourself, not the people giving the mission.

_________________
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:33 pm 
Offline
level1
level1

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 1:54 am
Posts: 13
That makes a lot of sense, but it says that its under the employers instructions that they don't allow me to accept the mission. I also checked my criminal record under my ratings, it said I had none. This implies they're trying to trace me, since each "trace a hacker" mission pops up right after I hack their systems :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 9:22 am 
Offline
level2
level2
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:26 pm
Posts: 196
Location: GREECE
I will tell you do something which is really cool . Clear your criminal records always but. . .

Try to add a criminal record to you ! ! like
---BEST HACKER-- or --He belongs to Organized Crime INC--

after that . . .
check your Rating ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 9:27 am 
Offline
level5
level5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am
Posts: 4136
Incriminate yourself. Clever.

_________________
Gentlemen, you can't fight in here: this is the War Room!
Ultimate Uplink Guide
Latest Patch


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:35 pm 
Offline
level2
level2

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 10:12 pm
Posts: 83
thats a bit weird

_________________
my favourite kind of poos:
Sweetcorn poop
Tar-mac poop


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:30 pm 
Offline
level1
level1

Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:38 pm
Posts: 30
Andorian15 wrote:
That makes a lot of sense, but it says that its under the employers instructions that they don't allow me to accept the mission. I also checked my criminal record under my ratings, it said I had none. This implies they're trying to trace me, since each "trace a hacker" mission pops up right after I hack their systems :)


That usually happens.

For as far as I know, that's also the basic principle of a frame mission: other hackers have to accept the 'TaH' mission that has appeared for the hack in which you framed someone. Once it has disappeared from the mission screen, the person to be framed will be arrested ~4 hours later. Or.... of course, you, if haven't modified the logs yet. But that would be stupid. The strange thing is that it's not ALWAYS the case: I once had a Bank Fraud mission where I logged towards the person, the TaH mission appears, but before it's gone, he's arrested. So I don't know if it's actually true what's in the first part of my post, but it's the sequence I've seen the most.

_________________
Since 2004 I've my own Uplink txt guide. I tried to differ it from the UUG. FInd it on GameFAQs' Uplink FAQ page (going to revise it during the christmas holiday).
TheaN's Text Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:28 am 
Offline
level0

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:25 am
Posts: 4
Hey guys,

I'm kind of weirded out here, I have a mission where I'm supposed to add a criminal record to someone.... and that someone is ME !

Should I do or abandon the mission?

I don't know what to do right now !

Thanks for any help you can give me ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:03 am 
Offline
level0

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:25 am
Posts: 4
Alright well I actually can't change the record there.

I have all the tools necessary, I have access, I type the name of the supposedly responsible person and believe it or not, its always my name that comes up with no picture.

Since I can't change the records in the database, what should I do? Should I just abort that mission at the risk of being downgraded ???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:11 pm 
Offline
level3
level3
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:06 am
Posts: 442
Location: unknown
When you type a name into the box, Uplink goes through all of the records, in alphabetical order, looking for the one you want. For whatever reason, your own record is placed at the very end of the list. If Uplink does not find the thing that you are looking for, then it returns the very last result in the list, which is you. Thus you have not been asked to alter your own record. Rather, you are typing something in wrong.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 7:40 pm 
Offline
level0

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:25 am
Posts: 4
OK that is good to know, I didn't want to give myself a record.

Tell you what though, I managed to rob a bank and not get caught. I stole 2.5 million credits from a guy, so I updated my gateway to the best one, as well as all my hardware & software.

That was really stupid of me, because now I don't see the point of playing anymore. I've got it all, so why bother doing missions for 10,000c ?!

Meh, the excitement is lost now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:50 am 
Offline
level1
level1

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:59 am
Posts: 29
Location: United States
Wait until you do the missions, the game gets its life back, especially on the finale.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group