Ideas for expansions and improvements to Defcon

Moderators: DTNC Vicious, bert_the_turtle, Laika_rus, Nukraine, Vicious, kudayta, jelco

Bomber orders

Bomber orders

Postby Spacemonkey » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:36 am

I notice after ordering a bomber to nuke a target, it you order it to divert it's course (eg. to fly around a group of battleships), it will lunch a nuke at the point to tell it to fly to, as opposed to just flying there.

I find this really annoying, I hate saving my bombers from getting shot down by battleships, just to have them lunch their nukes at empty ground.

I think you should be able to order bombers to attack with left click, and move with right click, much like how it works with ships.
Last edited by Spacemonkey on Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:55 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Spacemonkey
level4
level4
 
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:31 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Postby rawera » Wed Oct 11, 2006 4:55 am

I though that's what it was (right and left mouse clicks, that is).
User avatar
rawera
level1
level1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:04 pm

Postby Kuth » Wed Oct 11, 2006 4:58 am

That's how it is.

After dropping off their bomb you are free to redirect them anywhere you wish.
User avatar
Kuth
level4
level4
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Keele Imperium

Postby GeneticFreak » Wed Oct 11, 2006 5:10 am

As how it is now, right clicking (NOT LEFT, RIGHT) somewhere with an armed bomber that is in SRBM launch mode will drop the nuke on that place instead. SAME as left clicking.
User avatar
GeneticFreak
level3
level3
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: Indonesia

Postby rawera » Wed Oct 11, 2006 5:15 am

Oh, well that seems kind of dumb.

I guess the rationale behind that is that when you give the arming codes (the wing plan attack r, if you will) it's the final step so the target itself is the number 1 priority, nevermind that you want to have your bombers attacking together which might entail them meeting up and arming before the actual target is assigned...
User avatar
rawera
level1
level1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:04 pm

Postby Kuth » Wed Oct 11, 2006 6:50 am

As far as I can tell, you can change the bomber's target only a certain time before it launches. After that the nuke is launched, no matter where else you want it to go.

Haven't encountered the phenominae described here though.
User avatar
Kuth
level4
level4
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Keele Imperium

Postby Nuke Me Slowly » Wed Oct 11, 2006 8:57 am

The problem is that when a bomber is in SRBM launch mode the next point you designate
for it will be targetet by its nuke regardlesss of whether you RIGHT click or LEFT click.
Nuke Me Slowly
level1
level1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:23 am
Location: (GMT +01:00)

Postby Suicide_Squad » Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:28 pm

I can confirm that as I had the same problem once. I "solved" it by sending the bomber to a place out of combat range and switched to my actual target just when I wanted my bomber to launch its nuke.
Suicide_Squad
level1
level1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 7:01 pm

Postby Dr. Strangelove » Wed Oct 11, 2006 4:57 pm

suicide and i do the same thing it would appear.

launch, arm, and tell them to fly to a point well outside the attack range
Dr. Strangelove
level1
level1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:05 am
Location: Denial (Canada)

Postby thesprucemoose » Thu Jul 03, 2008 8:00 pm

I had this problem in a match i was playing about an hour ago. I had a score of 23 (I really suck playing africa....) but there was some other demo guy who had a score of 26, and the victory timer was at 10 minutes. I had loadsa nukes in my airbases, but i only had one living bomber, in an airbase on the east side of my continent. I figured i had time for one last bomber run, so i loaded him up, and sent him out to bomb one city in south america to boost up my score. i saw some enemy battleships, so i tried to divert my bomber guys course around, but he launched his nuke instead, and i didnt have time to fly him back for another one. I finished last in that game... :cry:
thesprucemoose
level0
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 7:28 pm

Postby tllotpfkamvpe » Fri Jul 04, 2008 6:01 am

sometimes bombers will refuse to change their nuking targets, but that is easily fixed. Next time it happens (it is a sort of a bug) just type something in the chat box and press enter. then u shuld be able to reorder. :P
User avatar
tllotpfkamvpe
level5
level5

 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:04 am

Postby rus|Mike » Fri Jul 04, 2008 2:18 pm

tllotpfkamvpe wrote:sometimes bombers will refuse to change their nuking targets, but that is easily fixed. Next time it happens (it is a sort of a bug) just type something in the chat box and press enter. then u shuld be able to reorder. :P

:shock: Thanks for the advice: I din't even hear about this way out.
User avatar
rus|Mike
level5
level5
 
Posts: 2750
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 5:52 pm
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

Postby odstjj75 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:30 pm

two words. set "way points".
User avatar
odstjj75
level1
level1
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 6:09 am
Location: georgia

Return to Think Tank

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests