Can you mod the units themselves in Defcon?

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

scribs
level0

Can you mod the units themselves in Defcon?

Postby scribs » Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:33 pm

Hey guys, Im new to Defcon but am really enjoying the game. One thing Ive been wondering though is whether you can modify (or add) units in a Defcon mod, specifically I think an airborne radar aircraft would be an interesting addition. Can this be done (and if so, has it already been done)? I think it would make a nice addition to the game.

Thanks for the help,
Scribs
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5

Postby bert_the_turtle » Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:55 am

No, no actual game mechanic mod is possible.
City Builder
level2
level2

Postby City Builder » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:13 pm

bert_the_turtle wrote:No, no actual game mechanic mod is possible.

Bummer, I was hoping to find a mod that would at least replace the current in game icons with something else. The colors are terribly hard to see as you get to be an old fogie like myself.
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5

Postby bert_the_turtle » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:22 pm

Icons and unit graphics are not gameplay :) You can replace them just fine. You won't be able to do anything fundamental about the colours, though.
Montyphy
level5
level5

Postby Montyphy » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:24 pm

City Builder wrote:The colors are terribly hard to see as you get to be an old fogie like myself.

Eh? Turn up the contrast or brightness.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
City Builder
level2
level2

Postby City Builder » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:40 pm

I don't see that as an option in any of the game menus :?: