Homegrown Dedicated Server: DedCon 1.6.0_svn1038

Discuss your new mods and themes here

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
Ace Rimmer
level5
level5
Posts: 10803
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The Multiverse

Postby Ace Rimmer » Thu May 28, 2009 2:59 pm

Question, would it be possible to add in stats for the bot to reply. The reason I as is it might be nice to start up a 1v1 and type "Europe vs Asia" and get back the typical win probability for each territory.

We have this seasons 1v1 and Pox's website to pull from.
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast...
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Thu May 28, 2009 3:36 pm

That would be certainly be possible, but what's the added value over having the stats in your personal browser bookmark? They're quicker/easier to access that way and update automatically.
User avatar
Ace Rimmer
level5
level5
Posts: 10803
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The Multiverse

Postby Ace Rimmer » Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:52 pm

Well, I usually don't like to start game/check territories/look for stats/go back to game.

If you're saying it's too much work, then just say that. :P I'm just talking about a static generalized %.

Edit: Would it be possible for IV to integrate Dedcon into Defcon? Add a "Host Game" under New and Join Game on the menu, then have it list the available config files similar to the way Mods are listed. That would be nice, and shiny.

See, it's almost as if IV anticipated the need for another button... (blank space)

Image :P
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast...
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:34 pm

Hoping nobody notices I'm slacking away :)

Build 1010 is up. Removes the annoying expiration date and fixes a bug where REnd would eat up the following line.
spooq
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:56 pm

Postby spooq » Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:01 pm

Bert, have you had a look at the AI executable? Would it be possible to make non-AI and AI executables compatible? They don't seem to be at the moment, please correct me if I am wrong about this.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:48 pm

Well, as far as I know, the only thing making them non-compatible is the version number. That's all the help I can give.
spooq
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:56 pm

Postby spooq » Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:39 pm

Ok, I'll ask Robin if he can make this happen then :)
User avatar
Ace Rimmer
level5
level5
Posts: 10803
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The Multiverse

Postby Ace Rimmer » Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:00 pm

I think I may have asked for this before, but can't remember; minimize to tray function?
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast...
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:20 pm

I remember checking out tray functionality, so maybe you asked before. It's not really that complicated in itself, but keep in mind it is a simple console application right now, cross compiled from Linux. That makes implementing and testing Windows-specific features harder.
User avatar
sfericz
level5
level5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby sfericz » Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:19 pm

Also, what about an interface that could run multiple dos/server windows all in one or one window that could tab between Server 1, Sever 2... etc

That's only if you plan on doing a big rehaul though.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:39 pm

Get a proper OS where features like that are already included :) Or get this.
User avatar
sfericz
level5
level5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby sfericz » Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:49 pm

That's a nifty lil program.
User avatar
trickser
level5
level5
Posts: 1823
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:15 pm
Location: The Senate ; GMT+1
Contact:

Postby trickser » Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:56 pm

In Diplo games you would not wanna leave the green alliance, cause you just cant talk the CPU_Player into a secret agreement. And there is always a CPU Player.
How about Dedcon would provide a dummy Player, who does just nothing?
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Sat Jun 26, 2010 12:43 am

Righty, to sync up with the steam update, I bumped the version to 1.6.0 and pushed up a new build. There's one small change relative to the last previous svn build and that's irrelevant for server admins, so you don't have to upgrade. The change disables a method that could be used to scum for the newly added achievements. All previous builds have been made unavailable, of course. They're still there and can be revived in case unexpected trouble comes up.

And someone could have told me the trac server (wiki and trackers) was down for months.
User avatar
Ace Rimmer
level5
level5
Posts: 10803
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The Multiverse

Postby Ace Rimmer » Sat Jun 26, 2010 4:40 am

bert_the_turtle wrote:And someone could have told me the trac server (wiki and trackers) was down for months.

I actually went there today to re-download dedcon; wondered what was going on.
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast...

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest