How to hack personal pc's

Discussion on the full game [spoilers]

Moderators: jelco, bert_the_turtle, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver, Punisher Bass

Tisca
level0

How to hack personal pc's

Postby Tisca » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:24 am

Hi guys . I am new on this forum , and i wanted to ask you a question .

As it says in the subject , How do i hack personal pc's ?

When i connect to a personal pc , it says "No external log-ins permitted , Please leave now".

I know its a noob question , but i just started playing yesterday .

Can anyone help me?

Thanks .
KingAl
level5
level5

Postby KingAl » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:31 am

You don't need to hack personal PCs, and so can't - at least, that's my understanding. There's one exception to this that I know of - an optional extra for the curious during your investigation of ARC early in the story.
Tisca
level0

Postby Tisca » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:37 am

Thanks alot for your answer .

But - i know i dont need to hack the personal pc's .

But it really seems nice , that some people can go to the bank with another bank id , and transfer money to their own account .

And when i finaly get through to a personal pc , its a phone number .
frenchfrog
level5
level5

Postby frenchfrog » Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:24 pm

You need to use Log UnDeleter.
The Ultimate Uplink Guide (for any question on Uplink)
Latest Uplink Patch
Tisca
level0

Postby Tisca » Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:36 pm

Log undeleter will only erase my log ? - what can i use that for to hack a personal pc ?
Montyphy
level5
level5

Postby Montyphy » Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:58 pm

You can't hack PCs in Uplink (apart from the easter egg KingAl hinted at). Also, bouncing through PCs and modems wont prevent passive or active traces from catching you.

BTW, what do you think PC stands for? ;)
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
Tisca
level0

Postby Tisca » Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:19 pm

Dunno? You tell me ?

When it says : David Beckhams's Personal PC ?