Prisoners not leaving holding cells

General chit-chat and minor questions about just about anything

Moderator: NBJeff

snowwhiteggr
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 3:51 am

Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby snowwhiteggr » Thu Jul 02, 2015 3:56 am

I am a new-ish fan of the game and have noticed an issue where after an incident of my prisoners being put in solitary for any particular reason, or even being put on lockdown, they just linger in the holding cell for no apparent reason. When I target them, there is no punishment listed. If I click them, and then click inside an empty cell, they are escorted there without any problem at all. Am I missing something to make them automatically be released back into general population after their punishment time is up, or is this a bug? Any help would be appreciated. It's starting to get irritating to have to do this after every single time one is found with something they are not supposed to have, or a fight breaks out.
Adenauer
level1
level1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:07 am

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby Adenauer » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:18 am

It's something to do with how the game decides that your prison has no cells suitable for those prisoners, which is due to the cell quality feature. They will have to stay in wherever the game puts them in after they get caught for something until they have enough days without incident to get a suitable cell. To solve this you have to either manually assign them, or build really low quality cells by researching "Small Cells" in the bureaucracy screen, which will allow you to build cells with a quality of 0.
xakthos
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:58 am

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby xakthos » Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:50 pm

If you don't have a holding cell what happens to them? For for instance if every cell in the prison is a quality 3, and there are no holding cells (straight from delivery to reception to quality 3 cell for intake) what happens?
User avatar
Neddleson
level1
level1
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Warwickshire, England

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby Neddleson » Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:56 pm

So how do you manually assign prisoners cells?
chaleur
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:28 pm

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby chaleur » Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:02 pm

I think you are supposed to be able to left click the prisoner and then right click the cell. However, this doesn't work for me. I think, however, it's because my cells have no floor to click on, and you have to click the cell floor. My cells are full of objects, and the minute I remove some of the objects prisoners move in so I can't test.

UPDATE: I take this back. I tried with a higher level prisoner and a higher level cell and it worked.
Trixi
level2
level2
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:22 am
Location: Ulm, Germany
Contact:

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby Trixi » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:41 am

have u enclosed your prison with walls?
RedTear
level2
level2
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 3:04 pm

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby RedTear » Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:34 am

Adenauer wrote:It's something to do with how the game decides that your prison has no cells suitable for those prisoners, which is due to the cell quality feature. They will have to stay in wherever the game puts them in after they get caught for something until they have enough days without incident to get a suitable cell. To solve this you have to either manually assign them, or build really low quality cells by researching "Small Cells" in the bureaucracy screen, which will allow you to build cells with a quality of 0.

You dont need to research small cells for them. Someone who deserves a cell quality of 0 will be put in a cell of the quality of 2 so you can give him a normal sized shall with a shower.
The 0 is just the one theyd actualy deserve but there is flexibility.

"If you don't have a holding cell what happens to them?"
Ive had some sleeping in solitary cells before. Quite a good solution actualy :)
blackdwarf
level2
level2
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:54 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby blackdwarf » Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:28 pm

I made all of my cells to be identical. I made sure they all had the same quality rating. Prisoners still remained in the holding cell unless I manually moved them to a free cell.

This smells like a bug to me.
Widmore
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 11:59 pm

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby Widmore » Thu Jan 28, 2016 1:53 pm

Are there any solutions to this problem available now ?
I have the same problem. Prisoners are "living" in the solitary cells, I bulldozed my holding cell because I don't think it is necessary.
The prison worked fine for a long time, i don't know why they started to have a problem with the cell grading now. Recently I found out that there was a wall unattached to my cell block which caused that some cells had a grading of 9 instead of 10. But I fixed it and they are still staying in solitary cells at night. I also tried to reassign about 30 of them to the unoccupied cells but after they got caught with contraband and were send to solitary they seem to forgot about the cell assignment.

I will post my savegame and hope someone could help me. It's driving me crazy!

http://www.filedropper.com/cellgradingwidmore

Thank you in advance!
diegojdegraaf
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:17 pm

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby diegojdegraaf » Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:06 pm

I had the same problem, the best thing that you can do is create lower grade cells, they will leave living in solitary cells and holding cells.
Hulmir
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:52 am

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby Hulmir » Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:57 pm

I have the same problem with some of my prisoners not being assigned by a guard to a cell even though i have plenty of empty cells of all sorts..

this problem only appeared after update 3. there must be a bug that is causing this issue from update 3....
Widmore
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 11:59 pm

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby Widmore » Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:37 pm

Exactly. It also happened to me after update 3. Is this bug known to the team?
Widmore
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 11:59 pm

Re: Prisoners not leaving holding cells

Postby Widmore » Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:41 pm

Hello, OP here.
If someone occasionally gets to read this thread again: It was the well known problem with the cell grading. There is an option in the policy panel now that disables the cell grading.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests