Generator bug FIXED

Problems with the Mac version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

ionicbox
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:42 am

Generator bug FIXED

Postby ionicbox » Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:02 pm

I found this http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... .php?t=762

Basically this takes a few minutes and it fixes it.

USE Redshirt from http://clementcadbury.free.fr/redshirt2/index.php

Open up the file found via Library/Application Support/Darwinia/full/users/NewUser/game.txt,

and search for a line that looks like this:
76 2 4 6 0 0

Mine was 76 2 4 5 -1 0 but it is the only line thats close. Using Redshirt - Replace the 2 with a 1 and then save the crypted file game.txt and replace it with the game.txt thats on your HD. The Control Tower thats next to the Generator will now be uncaptured at the start of the level allowing your engineers to reprogram it so it will register the energy generated from the solar panels.
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:55 pm

You didn't need to make new threads for this... 'Bumping' the threads was enough. ;)

That's a fine job of gravedigging though!
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16863
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:47 am

A couple of things:

  1. This is not really a fix for the bug. This is more of a work around. It changes the state of the pertinent building, making it possible to finish the level. Moreover, this particular work around has been discussed before.
  2. It is not necessary to re-encrypt the game.txt file. Darwinia will happily read an unencrypted game.txt file. It is probably easiest to leave things unencrypted, as this limits the possibility for error, and the game will re-encrypt the file itself the next time that it is run.


xander
ionicbox
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:42 am

RE:

Postby ionicbox » Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:22 am

Well needless to say I was rather happy to find something that worked, but what sucks even more is that on the next level the Yard doesn't produce Armor
roblabla
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:32 am

Postby roblabla » Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:38 am

even better, it does not work. . . DAMN IT I guess I'll just skip this level by hacking the save file ^^. (any help would be appreciated though)
crusaderace
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 11:40 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Generator bug FIXED

Postby crusaderace » Sat May 12, 2012 4:42 pm

[quote="ionicbox"]I found this http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... .php?t=762

Basically this takes a few minutes and it fixes it.

USE Redshirt from http://clementcadbury.free.fr/redshirt2/index.php

Open up the file found via Library/Application Support/Darwinia/full/users/NewUser/game.txt,

and search for a line that looks like this:
76 2 4 6 0 0

Mine was 76 2 4 5 -1 0 but it is the only line thats close. Using Redshirt - Replace the 2 with a 1 and then save the crypted file game.txt and replace it with the game.txt thats on your HD. The Control Tower thats next to the Generator will now be uncaptured at the start of the level allowing your engineers to reprogram it so it will register the energy generated from the solar panels.[/quote]

Tried it all. Didn't work. It's May 2012, anyone else can help?

Return to “Mac Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest