mod invaled map file

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

striker7770
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:05 am

mod invaled map file

Postby striker7770 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:11 pm

hey, i was trying out mods, when i have to create a new profile. when it did, it crashed, and said invaled map file specified. i looked on here, and i found it was stuck on mod prefrences. so i went to prefrences.txt. i could not change anything in the text. it reset when starting up the game. any help would be apreciated.

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-full-egames-1.4.2
ERROR : 'Invalid map file specified'

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundMixFreq = 22050
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 32
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 0
SoundMemoryUsage = 1
SoundBufferSize = 512
SoundDSP = 1
ScreenWidth = 1280
ScreenHeight = 768
ScreenWindowed = 0
ScreenZDepth = 24
ScreenColourDepth = 16
ScreenRefresh = 60
RenderLandscapeDetail = 3
RenderWaterDetail = 3
RenderBuildingDetail = 3
RenderEntityDetail = 3
RenderCloudDetail = 3
RenderPixelShader = 0
ControlMouseButtons = 3
ControlMethod = 1
BootLoader = random
UserProfile = NewUsermod
RenderSpecialLighting = 0
Difficulty = 1
ChristmasEnabled = 1
ModSystemEnabled = 1
Mod = EnemyWithinPart1

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 004217B6
retAddress = 004AA509
retAddress = 004AC055
retAddress = 004A4AD6
retAddress = 00491B34
retAddress = 004B4F95
retAddress = 004B513D
retAddress = 004264CD
retAddress = 004D3E20
retAddress = 77463833
retAddress = 777BA9BD
retAddress = 00000000
aikidrew
level1
level1
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 4:09 pm

Postby aikidrew » Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:04 pm

The same thing happened to me. Step by step help would be greatly appreciated as I am pretty lame on the computer :?
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16863
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:28 pm

The error indicates that the user profile that you are using is referencing a map file that does not exist in the currently loaded scenario (either the original campaign, or a mod). Remember that each user profile can only be used for one scenario. So, whenever you load a mod, you want to first load the mod, then immediately create a new user profile for that mod. My guess is that you either didn't create a new user correctly, or you loaded an old profile with a mod loaded. The easiest way to fix this is to edit your preferences file. Change the following lines:

Code: Select all

UserProfile = none
Mod = none


When you restart Darwinia, you should have no mod loaded, and no profile loaded. Load the mod that you want to play, then create a new profile.

xander
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Mon Feb 09, 2009 11:35 pm

xander wrote:The error indicates that the user profile that you are using is referencing a map file that does not exist in the currently loaded scenario (either the original campaign, or a mod). Remember that each user profile can only be used for one scenario. So, whenever you load a mod, you want to first load the mod, then immediately create a new user profile for that mod. My guess is that you either didn't create a new user correctly, or you loaded an old profile with a mod loaded. The easiest way to fix this is to edit your preferences file. Change the following lines:

Code: Select all

UserProfile = none
Mod = none


When you restart Darwinia, you should have no mod loaded, and no profile loaded. Load the mod that you want to play, then create a new profile.

xander
aikidrew wrote:The same thing happened to me. Step by step help would be greatly appreciated as I am pretty lame on the computer :?
1. Open the Darwinia folder (all I know is that for Steam it's in Steam/Steamapps/<username>/Darwinia. If you don't have it through Steam that a quick search might help, but if you still can't find it I guess you can ask here and SOMEBODY will probably tell you).
2. Open preferences.txt
3. Find the lines:

Code: Select all

UserProfile = <anything>
and

Code: Select all

Mod = <anything>
(obviously the <anything> can be, well, anything)
4. Replace both <anything>s with "none" in those lines.
5. Launch Darwinia.
6. Load the mod you are trying to play.
7. Create a new profile in Darwinia after you loaded the mod.


Hope this works :D

Return to “Windows Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests