Insurrection Secondary_core problems

Anything and everything

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris

Maple
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:04 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK

Insurrection Secondary_core problems

Postby Maple » Sat Jul 18, 2009 11:02 pm

For the past couple of weeks I've been enjoying Xander's fantastic Insurrection mod. After finishing Backdoor for the second time (after opening trunkport to secondary core and fighting back red darwinians), I went straight into Secondary_core and viewed the instructions from Sepulveda. Then I exited the level and the game, it being late and me tired. The next day I started up darwinia again and clicked on Secondary_core. After a few stuttering game sounds, an error message came up saying Darwinia had to exit. This happens every time I try to start the level.

Here is the black box info:-

Code: Select all

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-full-1.5.11
ERROR   : 'Invalid map file specified (map_secondary_core.txt)
Last error: The system cannot find the path specified.

 (3)'

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.00
BypassNetwork = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 0
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundMixFreq = 22050
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 0
SoundMemoryUsage = 3
SoundBufferSize = 512
SoundDSP = 0
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
ScreenWindowed = 0
ScreenZDepth = 16
ScreenColourDepth = 16
ScreenRefresh = 60
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderBuildingDetail = 1
RenderEntityDetail = 1
RenderCloudDetail = 1
RenderPixelShader = 0
ControlUp = key E
ControlDown = key Q
ControlLeft = key A
ControlBackwards = key S
ControlRight = key D
ControlForwards = key W
ControlChatLog = key TAB
ControlZoom = key Z
ControlDeselect = key SPACE
ControlMouseButtons = 3
BootLoader = random
UserProfile = Insurrection
ModSystemEnabled = 1
Mod = Insurrection
ControlMethod = 1
CurrentGameMode = 1
RenderSpecialLighting = 0
PrologueComplete = 1

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 0041C40A


If anyone would be able to help me out, I'd be very happy, as I'm really enjoying the game and want to finish it. I apologise if this problem has already been encountered on another thread.
Thanks!
User avatar
Phelanpt
level5
level5
Posts: 1839
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:20 am
Location: Portugal

Postby Phelanpt » Sun Jul 19, 2009 7:57 pm

I have no idea what the problem could be, but the people that might know will probably ask you if you have a file called "map_secondary_core.txt" in your darwinia profile directory. This is the directory that is created with the same name as your game profile, and keeps the saved level files when you exit them.
Also, what other files do you have in that directory?
Maple
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:04 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK

Postby Maple » Sun Jul 19, 2009 11:42 pm

Hi Phelanpt,

In the darwinia directory there is a folder called 'Users', and within that another one called 'Insurrection' - I assume that is the one you are referring to, as there is no 'Profiles' directory as far as I can see. In Users/Insurrection, there are no map files, only mission files:-

    game
    mission_annihilation
    mission_annihilation_b
    mission_backdoor_a
    mission_backdoor_b
    mission_backdoor_b_warp1
    mission_backdoor_b_warp2
    mission_database
    mission_discovery1
    mission_discovery2
    mission_discovery3
    mission_discovery4
    mission_image
    mission_infection
    mission_processor
    mission_rebellion
    mission_recruitment1
    mission_repository
    mission_sanctuary
    mission_secondary_core
    mission_station


Thanks for your help - I hope this is OK.
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:02 am

Yeah, that's what he meant.

You'll need to post the mission_secondary_core one.

Please use code tags.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16863
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:20 pm

NeatNit wrote:Yeah, that's what he meant.

You'll need to post the mission_secondary_core one.

Please use code tags.

No, that isn't what he meant. The error specifically states that the map is missing. The map file can be found in the mod directory, not the profile directory. In the mod directory, try to find levels/map_secondary_core.txt . If the file is there, I don't know what the problem is. If it is not there, try redownloading and reextracting the mod, then copying map_secondary_core.txt to the directory where it is missing. In fact, you might try that, anyway.

xander
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:57 pm

He already started the map once, so unless he deleted it on his own, I can't see how it would be possible that the map is missing.


But I guess it would make sense that he deleted it, if he wanted to see the level's intro again. I mean, he should have deleted the mission file instead, but he deleted the map file instead.


And yes it is what he meant.
Maple
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:04 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK

Postby Maple » Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:44 pm

Xander wrote:
try redownloading and reextracting the mod, then copying map_secondary_core.txt to the directory where it is missing. In fact, you might try that, anyway


OK, The map file was there, and as per instructions re-downloaded the mod and replaced the file with a new one from the zipped file. I then tried to enter secondary core in the game, but unfortunately got the same error message.

I hadn't previously deleted either the mission or map file - they were both intact. However, going on your advice NeatNit, I moved the mission_secondary_core file out of the levels folder and then tried again, but to no avail.

I don't know whether this is important, but in my desperation I used the toggle editor function and then clicked on Secondary_core - the level detail was all there as far as I could tell.

Anyway, thanks for your help all, I really do appreciate it!
User avatar
Phelanpt
level5
level5
Posts: 1839
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:20 am
Location: Portugal

Postby Phelanpt » Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:52 pm

xander wrote:
NeatNit wrote:Yeah, that's what he meant.

You'll need to post the mission_secondary_core one.

Please use code tags.

No, that isn't what he meant.

xander

I'm sorry to tell you that NeatNit was right here, it was what I meant. I confused the mission files and the map files, and was thinking map_secondary_core was a mission file, not a map file. :oops:
However, this is not important to the point.
Maple
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:04 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK

Postby Maple » Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:57 pm

Thanks Phelanpt :D
User avatar
The GoldFish
level5
level5
Posts: 3961
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Bowl / South UK
Contact:

Postby The GoldFish » Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:02 pm

Silly question, but do all the other maps in the mod still work?
-- The GoldFish - member of former GIT and commander in chief of GALLAHAD. You could have done something, but it's been fixed. The end. Also, play bestgameever!
Maple
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:04 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK

Postby Maple » Wed Jul 22, 2009 12:00 am

Hi The Goldfish,

Yes, all other maps before secondary_core have worked just fine.

Cheers for your input :)
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Wed Jul 22, 2009 12:40 am

What he meant is that you should try entering them NOW.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests