Modding Maps

Working on new maps for Multiwinia? Discuss!

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

User avatar
GreenRock
level4
level4
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 3:47 pm
Location: Triangulating...

Modding Maps

Postby GreenRock » Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:35 pm

Do you need to learn any type of programming language for this kindof stuff? Even if i do, where would you start making maps? In the multiwinia program files or something?
Jordy...
level5
level5
Posts: 2367
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:57 pm

Postby Jordy... » Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:02 pm

I am poorly qualified to answer this question, but from what I know, they make these maps in darwinia map editor and then translate them with the use of som prgram to multiwinia, also it should not b that hard to do, so I don't think you really need programming skills
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16865
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:43 pm

Multiwinia uses exactly the same map format as Darwinia. Thus, you can create a map in Darwinia, then use it in Multiwinia. However, maps in Multiwinia have several features that Darwinia maps do not have, such as MultiwiniaZones for KotH and Blitz, and settings that behave somewhat differently, such as SpawnPoint team assignment (which actually works in Multiwinia). Your best bet would be to extract the data files for Multiwinia (they are .rar files, so change the extension and extract), and read through what is there to figure out how it works. Then, make maps in Darwinia, and adjust the settings that you need to in order to make it work in Multiwinia.

Having said of all that, getting working maps in Multiwinia is currently kind of arcane, and custom maps are not really supported. It is a headache, and there is not a great deal of payoff, because getting other people to play your maps may be a problem. If you are in it for your own gratification, have fun, and feel free to ask specific questions if you have them. However, if you are expecting it to be easy, or you are trying to make maps that a lot of people will play, you might be better off waiting for the map editor to come out.

xander
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:32 pm

xander wrote:they are .rar files, so change the extension and extract
I thought they were zips.

Well it doesn't matter, you don't need to change the extension. Just open with WinRAR or 7Zip or whatever program you use and it works.
User avatar
The GoldFish
level5
level5
Posts: 3961
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Bowl / South UK
Contact:

Postby The GoldFish » Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:16 pm

No programming knowledge is required, however being happy mucking around in text data files can be helpful.

Because most of Multiwinia and Darwinia's landscape is based from mathematical equations, it can be quite hard to edit maps without at least the Darwinia map editor. Darwinia map files are very similar to Multiwinia maps, in that Darwinia has seperate map and mission files, where as Multiwinia's mp_ files contain the contents of those two files, as well as a small header which tells the game what gametype they are, as well as population limits. You can see some examples of the text files in the draw maps here thread, as well as in multiple other threads in this forum.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16865
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:25 pm

NeatNit wrote:
xander wrote:they are .rar files, so change the extension and extract
I thought they were zips.

No, they aren't. They are .rars.

xander
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:47 pm

If you say so. All I know is no matter what's the extension, if you open it with WinRAR it works.
User avatar
elexis
level5
level5
Posts: 1466
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby elexis » Sun Jul 12, 2009 12:06 am

Image
Last edited by elexis on Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Phelanpt
level5
level5
Posts: 1839
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:20 am
Location: Portugal

Postby Phelanpt » Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:09 am

Dear sir, what I believe elexis was trying to point out pictorially, is that you fail.

Ironically, he has failed at that.
User avatar
Shwart!!
level5
level5
Posts: 1237
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:36 am

Postby Shwart!! » Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:53 am

Really? It seems, in further irony, that you are failing at the identification of failpresentation. It looks like a very proper message of fail to me.
Unless I've failed at understanding your failish attempts at accufailtions? :P

Shwart!!
Mas Tnega
level5
level5
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby Mas Tnega » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:53 am

It came up as a broken image before I actually jammed the url into the address bar and went to see what the hell it was.
User avatar
Phelanpt
level5
level5
Posts: 1839
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:20 am
Location: Portugal

Postby Phelanpt » Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:01 pm

What Mas said.
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Sun Jul 12, 2009 5:59 pm

Fixed now, somehow. But it was like that for me too yesterday.
User avatar
elexis
level5
level5
Posts: 1466
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby elexis » Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:04 am

:evil: aaargh! next time ill re-host the image myself, but i think you get the idea.

^^Edited^^
User avatar
Shwart!!
level5
level5
Posts: 1237
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:36 am

Postby Shwart!! » Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:12 am

Huh... well, it's broken now.

Shwart!!

Return to “Mods and Maps”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests