Fatal Error: Failed to load language file

Get community help for technical problems

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

Twinky
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:31 pm

Fatal Error: Failed to load language file

Postby Twinky » Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:38 pm

Hello,

I bought multiwinia on steam and whenever I try to run it, I get this error (Fatal Error: Failed to load language file) which forces me to quit. When I launch the game, my whole screen turns black as expected, but a few seconds in, the game crashes and displays this message. After pressing OK, I get a second message saying:

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Runtime Error!

Program:

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.


Thanks for any help!
Twinky
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16859
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:51 pm

Standard questions: What version of Windows are you running? What are your hardware specs? Have you read the how to report a bug topic at the top of this forum? You might also try reading through the troubleshooting topic on the Darwinia boards, as some of the information there may be useful (or not).

xander
Twinky
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:31 pm

Postby Twinky » Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:35 am

Hello xander,

I am running Windows Vista 64bit edition on service pack 2 with the following hardware:

4GB of DDR2 ram
AMD Atholon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+ 2.9 GHz
ATI Radeon HD 4850, 514 MB DDR3

I have not read how to report a bug topic. And I have searched the Multiwinia forums for any post containing the words: "Fatal +Error +language +file", however this yielded no result.

I hope this information helps!
-Twinky
Twinky
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:31 pm

Postby Twinky » Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:44 am

Hello,

After trying different things, I got it to work on my own.

In order to solve my issue, deleted the cache files from inside the steam gui and redownloaded/installed the game.

Hope this helps anyone who will have the same problem!

-Twinky
User avatar
elexis
level5
level5
Posts: 1466
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby elexis » Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:48 am

The most likely cause was a faulty install. The verify feature of steam can usually pick this up but sometimes it doesn't.

Return to “Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest