Multiwinia crashes every 2nd or 3rd match...

Get community help for technical problems

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

arnout091
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:06 pm

Postby arnout091 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:14 pm

Yes, I tried that too, changing the sound settings to any other setting doesn't change a thing.
spookster
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:31 pm

Postby spookster » Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:23 pm

okay, i fixed it.
i had bluescreens every now and then, but very few (about 1 a month), while surfing, videoediting or playing a game.
always suspected my soundcard drivers or ram.

i had memtest check my ram for 1 hour or so several times without getting any errors (always waited for 100% coverage).
but i was totally annoyed of the game crashes and the bluescreens last week.
so i ran memtest for about 15 hours and i got 2 errors (this is also very few, but errors nonetheless).
i clocked down my mem from 1066mhz to 800mhz, ran memtest for 24h without any errors and then tried multiwinia.
guess what?
no more crashes, even after 5 matches.
so memtest needed 12 hours to get 2 ram errors.
multiwinia got one (apparentely) after 20 minutes.

so... after all multiwinia seems to be a very good "tool" for testing computers for faulty ram :)
btw all other games i own (i.e. team fortress 2, gta iv, dead space) ran for several hours with instable ram setting of 1066mhz.
and changing the ram speed down to 800mhz did not affect my computers performance at all.

end of story, for me.
arnout091
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:06 pm

Postby arnout091 » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:17 pm

Well, my memory is running at 10666... But isn't this just a Multiwinia problem? Since no other app is causing my RAM to flood?
spookster
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:31 pm

Postby spookster » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:35 pm

when your pc is idle, try running memtest for several hours.
if you have a dual/quad core system you can start more than one instance and assign parts of your ram to each instance.
for example
i have 4 gigs of ram and a quad core => i started 3 instances of memtest with each checking 1024mb of memory.
even if the coverage is at 100% and you get no errors let it run for at least 10 hours.
a stable ram configuration should be able to run memtest for weeks without getting any errors.

like i said, it solved MY multiwinia problem, and i guess, i won't see any bluescreens (which were very rare) in the future.
my system was not 100% stable so it was not multiwinia's fault, the ram use looks the same even after i clocked my ram down.
it just does not crash anymore...

maybe worth a try?
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2413
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:53 pm

spookster wrote:when your pc is idle, try running memtest for several hours.
if you have a dual/quad core system you can start more than one instance and assign parts of your ram to each instance.
for example
i have 4 gigs of ram and a quad core => i started 3 instances of memtest with each checking 1024mb of memory.
even if the coverage is at 100% and you get no errors let it run for at least 10 hours.
a stable ram configuration should be able to run memtest for weeks without getting any errors.

like i said, it solved MY multiwinia problem, and i guess, i won't see any bluescreens (which were very rare) in the future.
my system was not 100% stable so it was not multiwinia's fault, the ram use looks the same even after i clocked my ram down.
it just does not crash anymore...

maybe worth a try?


Much better method: Memtest86+
arnout091
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:06 pm

Postby arnout091 » Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:13 pm

Okay, my RAM is not faulty and I seriously doubt clocking it differently is going to solve anything, let alone the performance downgrade it would be on my system for this game only. Besides, there's still no clue on why Multiwinia is crashing in the first place, so I'd like to try some less invasive action. What part of the crash log would be the most interesting for the people reading this forum?
neolith
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:34 pm

Postby neolith » Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:38 pm

I have exactly the same problem. The game starts eating RAM like there's no tomorrow until it crashes. My RAM was tested, no errors. I am playing with the STEAM version on Win7 64. None of the suggested solutions in this thread seems to help at all. :(
arnout091
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:06 pm

Postby arnout091 » Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:22 pm

I have exactly the same problem. The game starts eating RAM like there's no tomorrow until it crashes. My RAM was tested, no errors. I am playing with the STEAM version on Win7 64. None of the suggested solutions in this thread seems to help at all.


I have just upgraded my video drivers but it didn't help. Are you by any chance using one of the newer ATI video cards? From the 5xxx series? Or maybe something else is similar in our hardware?

Code: Select all

Time of this report: 2/3/2010, 17:14:15
       Machine name: ALEXIS
   Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.090804-1435)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: Dutch)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
       System Model: GA-MA790XT-UD4P
               BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
          Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor,  MMX,  3DNow (4 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
             Memory: 3326MB RAM
          Page File: 927MB used, 6316MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
     DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode
neolith
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:34 pm

Postby neolith » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:44 pm

No, unfortunately not - I'm using a Radeon 4850. :( I've also tried the three last versions of ATI's driver by now. But the crashes still occur, no matter what I have installed.

The only thing that is a parallel on our machines is that we both use more than two cores. Other than that I am rather clueless.

Code: Select all

Time of this report: 2/3/2010, 21:36:22
       Machine name: PSYLOCKE
   Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
           Language: German (Regional Setting: German)
System Manufacturer: MSI
       System Model: MS-7522
               BIOS: Default System BIOS
          Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU         920  @ 2.67GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
             Memory: 6144MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 6136MB RAM
          Page File: 3002MB used, 9130MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
     DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 64bit Unicode
arnout091
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:06 pm

Postby arnout091 » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:43 pm

What does your crash log say? Multiwinia crashes on a faulty memory allocation caused by atioglxx.dll. I could imagine ati's opengl implementation isn't that good...

So I tried putting some other versions of opengl32.dll in the multiwinia folder. 4.0.1381.4 doesn't work, 5.1.2600.5512 is my current version in /system32/ and copying that to the game folder doesn't resolve the problem either...
neolith
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:34 pm

Postby neolith » Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:57 pm

arnout091 wrote:What does your crash log say? Multiwinia crashes on a faulty memory allocation caused by atioglxx.dll. I could imagine ati's opengl implementation isn't that good...

So I tried putting some other versions of opengl32.dll in the multiwinia folder. 4.0.1381.4 doesn't work, 5.1.2600.5512 is my current version in /system32/ and copying that to the game folder doesn't resolve the problem either...


Code: Select all

multiwinia caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module atioglxx.dll at 0023:6999889a.


I somehow doubt though that the ATI driver is itself is responsible for this. The two of us are by no way the only ones that use ATI cards. Also I have no other game crashing because of that driver and a Q3A stresstest causes no problems whatsoever.

Funny thing is that you can start a game and not press space to start the battle and no crashes occur. I left my machine in this state for over three hours. But once I actually start playing the game, it takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the crash. This reeks of memory leak.
arnout091
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:06 pm

Postby arnout091 » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:16 pm

I figured the space bar part out as well. I also think it's just sloppy coding, especially since it doesn't happen with any other application, not even Darwinia!
neolith
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:34 pm

Postby neolith » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:46 pm

arnout091 wrote:I figured the space bar part out as well. I also think it's just sloppy coding, especially since it doesn't happen with any other application, not even Darwinia!

Yes, I've played Darwinia, too - didn't crash once.

It's a shame, Multiwinia seems to be a really nice game. But in this state it's unplayable.
Anarchronique
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:57 am

Postby Anarchronique » Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:01 am

Hi guys.

I have the same problem... Don't understand why the devs are not doing anything about it, or say anything...

This is not a good way to build a reputation :roll:


Edit: I am quite silly! Guys if multiwinia crashes on your computer like mentionned in this tread, update your graphic card drivers and directX. The game works perfect right now, and it's a great game :)
I'm sorry about what I said about the devs. Great job IV!

Return to “Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests