Bug: Multiwinia steam.1.3.0 resets Player Name

Get community help for technical problems

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

User avatar
166_MMX
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:50 pm

Bug: Multiwinia steam.1.3.0 resets Player Name

Postby 166_MMX » Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:58 pm

Hi,

my Steam Version of Multiwinia always resets the Player Name to NewPlayer.

I already tried to find a solution here inside the forums but did not find anything useful.

Also the steampowered forums did not help me here.

Non of my files are set to read only.

Dose anyone have the same issue? Or a solution how to fix it?

Best MMX

--
Multiwinia steam.1.3.0 built Mar 3 2009
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:17 pm

I'm gonna assume you know how to get to the Multiwinia folder.

Open preferences.txt

find a line like this:

Code: Select all

PlayerName = NewPlayer

Change NewPlayer to whatever you want.
User avatar
166_MMX
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:50 pm

Postby 166_MMX » Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:46 pm

Thanks for your reply.

Though I tried that before a few times.
Just verified it again to see if it is fixed now.
  1. Checked Player Name inside Multiwinia and is again or still NewPlayer; exited Multiwinia
  2. Set my Player Name inside the preferences.txt to "166_MMX.TVR" without quotes; saved and closed the file
  3. Checked Player Name inside Multiwinia and is again or still NewPlayer

Inside the preferences.txt the variable was set to NewPlayer too.

Maybe its related to the dot inside the name.
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:11 pm

Maybe. I'll try it
You can always give up your dot.

Edit: Okay, weird... maybe it's the _? did you try using a space instead?
User avatar
166_MMX
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:50 pm

Postby 166_MMX » Thu Mar 19, 2009 2:02 pm

Okay I finally was able to locate the issue.

It's because my nick name starts with a number instead of alpha character.

I guess it's trying to interpret the value as a number but not as a string.

Having a underscore or dot inside the name is fine. Only tested it in the middle of alpha characters.
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:56 pm

Nice job, brother! :P
User avatar
166_MMX
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:50 pm

Postby 166_MMX » Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:48 pm

Thanks :)

Now I only hope this bug report will bee seen by the developers, so that the bug gets fixed.

I would like to use my full name inside the game and not having it to set it every time I start the game.
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:40 pm

Have you tried putting the name in with "" in the txt? I doubt it will work, but you can give it a shot :wink:
User avatar
166_MMX
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:50 pm

Postby 166_MMX » Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:04 pm

Yes i did, the quotes are then also in my name

Return to “Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest