BT Home Hub Port Forwarding

Get community help for technical problems

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

SunKing
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:32 pm

BT Home Hub Port Forwarding

Postby SunKing » Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:28 am

This is a post for all those who are using BT Home Hub (white box) routers to play this game over the internet. Although Introversion suggest opening ports 4000-4001 or activating DMZ to play the game, for some reason, opening those ports didn't work for me and I couldn't figure out how to activate DMZ properly.

Luckily I have managed to get it to host as well as join games, simply by changing the client and server ports in the Multiwinia options to 27020 and 27050 respectively. I then forwarded the ports on my router from 27020 to 27050 UDP and TCP and the game seems to working better. I can now connect to the majority of servers I click on and I can also host when before it wasn't possible. I have no idea why it wasn't working before with ports 4000-4001 since all I've done is change a few numbers. For some reason I think, the firewall was blocking the ports even though I had specified them to be open. Weird :S.

For a guide on changing port forwarding settings see here:

http://www.portforward.com/english/rout ... bindex.htm

I hope this is helpful to people as it's taken me ages to figure this out. Hopefully I'll be able to save others a little time and effort :)
User avatar
ynbniar
level5
level5
Posts: 2028
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:36 pm
Location: Home again...

Postby ynbniar » Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:30 am

Just curious but why did you change to 27020 and 27050...why those ports?
SunKing
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:32 pm

Postby SunKing » Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:51 am

Because they also happen to be the ports that allow the Steam client access to the internet:

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_art ... -EUDN-2493

My logic was that the Steam client works for so those ports must be open or are able to be opened. I hoping that I could get Multiwinia to ride on the back of the same ports Steam uses. Seemed to work.
morte
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:21 am

Postby morte » Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:23 am

Hi

This is still a problem for me on BT homehub. Making changes above allowed me to join games (when previously I couldnt at all), but once in game everybody gets synch error, it's consistent with any game I join.
Will keep fiddling I guess :(
morte
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:21 am

Postby morte » Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:52 am

Working now, I messed up the forwarding first time round in the completely strange hub software.
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:45 am

RabidZombie is a dedicated hater of the BT Home Hub because it in turn hates Multiwinia much like my SpeedTouch modem does. As I take it there are many users of this dreadful device so this is greatly appreciated. :)

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."
- Douglas Adams
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2413
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:38 pm

I'm pretty sure the reason why it works all of a sudden is because of a router reset, not because it's using Steam's ports.

Return to “Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests