[REQUEST]Direct IP Connect

General discussion about Multiwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

otaviomiguel
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:21 pm

[REQUEST]Direct IP Connect

Postby otaviomiguel » Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:24 pm

Hi, my friend and I wanted to play multiwinia, but when i connect to him it does like 50 attempts and nothing happens. I can't port forward, because my router has an password, and nobody knows what it is >_>. So, if there was an "Direct IP Connect" I could connect with my friend's hamachi ip. Thanks.
User avatar
Tom.K
level1
level1
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 9:15 am
Location: The Universe / Milky Way / Solar System / Earth / Europe / Croatia

Postby Tom.K » Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:41 pm

Did you tried to enable port forward option in-game? (Settings > Other Options > Port Forwarding (Ticked))
Spybot-S&D 2.0 Alpha Tester
otaviomiguel
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:21 pm

Postby otaviomiguel » Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:51 pm

I cant even portfoward
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:36 pm

Go to your router. You know, the real thing that you can actually hold. Look for a reset button, you'll probably need a pin to push it. Push it for at least 10 seconds, then let go. Voila, its password is now the default and you can find the default on a sticker or something on the actual router. (If you can't find it, look for your router model here)


Actually go ahead and try the defaults before you reset, if you haven't tried them already.
User avatar
MrBunsy
level5
level5
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:40 pm
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Postby MrBunsy » Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:57 pm

NeatNit wrote:Go to your router. You know, the real thing that you can actually hold. Look for a reset button, you'll probably need a pin to push it. Push it for at least 10 seconds, then let go. Voila, its password is now the default and you can find the default on a sticker or something on the actual router. (If you can't find it, look for your router model here)


Danger: Don't do this if you're on ADSL and your ISP requires a username and password.
otaviomiguel
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:21 pm

Postby otaviomiguel » Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:08 am

LOL, im going to try it now. Btw wtf is ISL?
otaviomiguel
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:21 pm

Postby otaviomiguel » Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:12 am

MrBunsy wrote:
NeatNit wrote:Go to your router. You know, the real thing that you can actually hold. Look for a reset button, you'll probably need a pin to push it. Push it for at least 10 seconds, then let go. Voila, its password is now the default and you can find the default on a sticker or something on the actual router. (If you can't find it, look for your router model here)


Danger: Don't do this if you're on ADSL and your ISP requires a username and password.

The direct ip connect would really be easier ;~;
User avatar
Seitaro
level2
level2
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:51 pm
Location: New England

Postby Seitaro » Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:23 pm

otaviomiguel wrote:The direct ip connect would really be easier ;~;


^ He does make a good point. No point in a server/game list when there's, you know, no games or servers.
But naw, use Hamachi or something if beating up your router doesn't work. :P
Turn on, tune in, drop out.
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:56 am

This feature has been requested an awful amount of times (oh how I have dreamt of giving players the opportunity to join games directly from the Ladder...) but sadly they never quite made it happen, and I doubt that's going to change now. In the meantime, port forwarding really is the only resort behind a NAT. Port 4000 and 4001 UDP and you're done. Because this is UDP and not TCP you really do need to have the ports accessible on both sides of the connection (a TCP connection can go through a NAT without issues to be talked through in the opposite direction - UDP however is stateless/connectionless).

I would like to point out however that if you only have these issues connecting to one particular machine, but none connecting to others, the problem will not be on your side but on his. ;)

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."
- Douglas Adams

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests