Prison Architect Alpha 28

The only place you'll ever hear the truth
User avatar
blipadouzi
level4
level4
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:35 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby blipadouzi » Fri Dec 19, 2014 2:09 am

In the Alpha video I thought I saw the truck drive off even though the "driver" was still bringing a box to the Delivery area. I've come to think of the "driver" entity more as a Shipping Helper or Trucker's Helper.
User avatar
RGeezy911
level5
level5
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:21 pm
Location: Pᴇɴɴsʏʟᴠᴀɴɪᴀ, USA
Contact:

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby RGeezy911 » Fri Dec 19, 2014 2:37 am

It can get confusing, because the Truck Drivers use the same sprite for the Janitors, but they are a big help nonetheless.
User avatar
gpgekko
level1
level1
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:51 pm
Location: NL

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby gpgekko » Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:20 am

Chris wrote:Obviously there is a second driver sitting in the truck, and he's on the clock ;)

Good enough for me! :P

Btw, I was just thinking that it might make more sense for doctors to go to a staff room if there is one, before standing out in the cold. And if there are more than two, than naturally they unite and occupy the wardens office, holding protest signs and demanding a better working environment and facilities. :P
sgiratch
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 11:58 am

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby sgiratch » Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:19 pm

I love the never ending updates and the alpha videoes. I hope you keep developing a long time yet. Fantastic fun process. Everyone gets PA for christmas this year :-D
Lyrad8791
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:18 am

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby Lyrad8791 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:23 am

Love the updates done this Alpha. Any idea when we can tell Doctors to stay put in one Medical Area instead of having them all congregate to one location? I normally have multiple medical wards to keep inmates from all using the same one.

Would also love a fix for all of my people walking into each other after a few hours of play and getting stuck and never moving. Had to restart my maps multiple times due to this bug.

Loving Logistics management! Would also love to see a moving toilet moving around my prisoner making prisoners run in order to do their business LOL
hoarst
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:03 pm

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby hoarst » Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:02 pm

Nice feature the Deployment Schedule but it doesn't seem to save the settings and I don't think it's to complicated. After restarting the game the settings for my guards are displayed in the schedule (e.g. blue 3 etc..) but there are no guards assigned to the different colors, so every color is the same setting as the white default one. Hope for a quickfix ;)

And I had problems with my UHD Resolution (3840x2160) the UI was not really on screen and the mouse cursor had an offset - now I'm playing in 1920x1080 window mode to fix it.
buildroot40
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:33 am

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby buildroot40 » Sat Dec 27, 2014 1:40 am

hi guys

me and my friend were going through the game looking at each others prison and we were thing of some cool ideas for future updates there were
escorts for protective custody
toll/ metal detector gates weapons only
shakedown regime
search guards that can beat smuggling
(for shakedowns)
riot guard shotguns/smg
guard traits (strong, fast)
guard training (weapon training, weight training add strength for hitting with baton and athletic training for speed)
Kickikack
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby Kickikack » Sat Dec 27, 2014 11:10 pm

Hey guys,

great update, really enjoyable adjustments. I don't think the schedule thing is the best way to go but it's a nice way to have this feature! I constantly encounter a missing top bar though. Although it's not really affecting gameplay I'm still a bit confused where it went. I see the Menu button and all that new stuff but everything else is gone or hiding or just having a Christmas break.

EDIT: Using OS X Yosemite
ljudfadern
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 4:45 pm

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby ljudfadern » Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:25 pm

Hi there guys,

Same issue here. Can't see the top bar on mac using osx 10.9.5. Everything else seems to work.

/Nalle
ijs948
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:35 am

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby ijs948 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 1:08 am

I also lost the top info bar on two different machines running OS X 10.10.1.
gilesey14
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:36 pm

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby gilesey14 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:40 pm

i dont know if its just me but i can do any research with my foreman it will always say 5 mins 59 secs remaining :cry:
User avatar
blipadouzi
level4
level4
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:35 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby blipadouzi » Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:15 pm

gilesey14 wrote:i dont know if its just me but i can do any research with my foreman it will always say 5 mins 59 secs remaining :cry:


Does your foreman have an office?
Modboy
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 1:18 am

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby Modboy » Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:51 pm

would be great if it was possible to ad a female prison section and it would also be great if cells could have multiple beds and prisoners so you can have maybe 4 prisoners in one cell room, maybe add some double beds also.
New Guy
level0
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby New Guy » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:55 pm

Hey guys,

I thought I'd just take the time and make a video about the bugs I found so somebody can work on fixing them ;D. The video is here: http://youtu.be/HpLT6oa3zo8, but be warned it's a bit loud for some reason and unfortunately has a watermark. If you don't want to watch the video I wrote them down as well:

Here are some of the more unnerving bugs in Prison Architect 28: Guards won't take dead prisoners to the morgue if they died awaiting solitary confinement or other punishments. You can have them manually transported to the solitary confinement but not to the morgue or the infirmary. They also seem to ignore some prisoners in handcuffs. The prisoners can't move on their own that way. It seems like the prisoners in the infirmary have so many pressing needs that they get hurt? Some of them should be even released by now but nothing happens whatsoever.
Moreover if you have prisoners helping out in the kitchen they will transport leftovers to the storage where it then stays infinitely.
Additionally searched prisoners will drop anything they are holding including dirty uniforms. That’s fine but once they've been dropped nobody will take care of them.

Another unnerving bug that is not included in the video are the jams in the workshop. I left my game running overnight and woke to the very loud bankruptcy phone call next morning. When I went and looked it over all the tables in the workshops (I have 2) were filled with sawn wood. That way the whole workshop didn't function. The carpenter stations do not take a lot of wood to produce superior beds. It would be nice if the game would simply sell the surplus of sawn wood. I've seen it happen once or twice when I load the prison but then for no clear reason it stops happening. A fix would be much appreciated.
Some of the Grants and some of the game play were a bit confusing to me and I had to look solutions up: The nutrition grant should include the notice that the meals should be one hour in the schedule at first and then 3x one hour.
The "All Rooms booked" notice should include which room would be needed. Furthermore it appeared when all I needed was a psychologist. It should specify that I need to hire [insert staff member here].
One Foreman only is a bit restrictive once you have a bigger prison. That way it makes it harder to educate carpenters. The bigger the prison is the less effective the workshops are.
The pool tables and telephones have to stand in my yards for the prisoners to use them. There is no time slot "common room" and the only time that room is used in my prison is when an AA session is held there.
There should be clearer explanations or explanations at all what each type of staff provides. Especially guards with dogs made no sense to me until I watched the according Alpha video.
Another neat feature could be included in the prisoners list. Instead of just going to the whereabouts there should be additional information when you hover over someone. The one you see anyway if you hover any prisoner. Moreover there should be a more efficient list to have an eye on prisoners with special features such as "Snitch" or "Deadly". When I discovered the possibility to have "Protected Custody" and "Max Security" prisoners my prison was already up and running. You try to find each of them by yourself. It's like searching for a needle in a haystack. The best method I have found so far is to sort them before new prisoners arrive inside the prison. It's quite hard to keep snitches alive when you don’t have an entire block dedicated to them e.g. kitchen and so on even with various schedules (BTW kitchen has a hard time preparing meals for multiple times).
Another feature which could do with a better explanation (meaning without having to look it up on the internet) are telephones and CCTV stations. First I had no idea to that I should connect the telephones but figured out they work just fine without a connection. Maybe keep that option out of the game until you reach the security grant. Next I installed CCTV monitors and cameras. The cameras kept telling me to install more CCTV stations in order for them to work, I ended up with 13 or so until I realized that this can hardly be meant to be. That’s when I found out what that connection option is meant for.
It would be great if prisoners could support workers - but having more limited rights obviously. I don’t' want them running out of the confinement of the prison when I build a new cell block. In connection to that is another issue: When a foundation is build next to a fence it will not come up with a exterior wall. So I demolished the fence to put a wall up next. Unfortunately prisoners wanted to clean that part and where let out by guards. Next thing I know 10 prisoners escaped until I figured out what was happening. Another odd thing is that when I pause the game when somebody is escaping and hand out punishments they will be handcuffed instantly - beating the game. In theory I could do the same during a fight or riot- simply by punishing them all manually?
The last thing I can think of right now is the efficiency of kitchens. It would be nice to know how many meals one kitchen is capable of producing with the current policy settings and how many meals are required in the affiliated canteen. That would reduce guesswork a great deal.

EDIT: Ah, wait! If prisoners can't be workers, can workers be distributed manually (to help move things along in workshops)?
And what about designated visitor entrances?
Oh, and CCTV cameras can surpass walls. They must be related to superman.
Oh! Storage shelves for storage areas, the workshop and the kitchen? Maybe even the laundry?
Oh! And is the first laundry delivery absolutely necessary? Took me ages to figure out why the circle didn't start. (Deliveries were out of reach for prisoners.) The laundry baskets could be filled with new clothes to fix the issue?
Tunnels beneath streets can't be fixed.
A FABULOUS feature would be the option to allow zones to different kinds of prisoners. So that Showers could be used by 2 types of prisoners. Alternatively give the option to shut certain groups out of an area.
There is a graphics bug: objects get more transparent from the middle outwards.
Would it be possible to allow one kind of machine in workshops? That way I could optimize my revenue by filling one with a hord of carpenters.... While the others focus on saws and presses.
Will friendships ever be covered in this game? Would be interesting if prisoners band together in groups. So if one guy is attacked(by staff or prisoners) they'd come to his aid. Maybe snitches in particular would bond closer to protect themselves as they are aware of the elevated danger they are in. Or if someone is given a punishment it would affect the whole group as well?
Prisoners should be able to jump over or cut through fences. Its a bit unralistic that they accept this puny fence.

The only scenario you guys made involves a death sentence. That was surprisingly dark to be honest. Considering that it is not practiced in Europe as far as I know. Could be that America is your primary targeted market, who knows.

I really like this game and hope you take this post as constructive criticism to help you improve its performance. Yes, I know it could take a while. But at least you can't say nobody told you.
And BTW your vids are always very entertaining ;D

Best wishes,

New Guy.
User avatar
Alpatron
level1
level1
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:52 pm
Location: The Czech Republic

Re: Prison Architect Alpha 28

Postby Alpatron » Sat Jan 24, 2015 2:53 pm

New Guy wrote:<Snip>

<Moderator Tip: Just write <Snip> when quoting a large post, so your own post doesn't become super large - or you can just quote a specific part of the large post, instead of the entire post!>


Thats's nice but bug reports are supposed to go into the bug tracker. :-)
Last edited by RGeezy911 on Sun Jan 25, 2015 3:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Shrinking post down!

Return to “Introversion Blog”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests