Tales from the front line S01E06

The only place you'll ever hear the truth
Byron
level2
level2

Tales from the front line S01E06

Postby Byron » Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:34 am

So here I am 00:05am on 5th of August 2008. Pretty soon I will be 37 and I find myself doing the same thing I have been doing since at least 2001 – working late on a game. So far my average going to be time is 02:30am and getting up time 09:00am at which point I start another long day of game coding and testing. This time it feels little different though because it’s a project I care about and it’s worth the extra effort being put in. Tomorrow (today?) we burn the gold master, which will then be sent for review and possibly to our distributers so it has to be damn good, hence the mega crunch.

To compound things, last week I was with Mark and Vic at the Develop conference in Brighton. And while it was an amazing conference where I met up with a lot of old friends from various games companies and made a few new ones, I didn’t get much sleep. Mainly because the hotel room was hot and I had to have the windows open which was obviously an open invitation to Seagulls to start screaming at me. ‘Why me?’ I would plead to them followed by ‘Look – Mark’s window is open, go scream at him for a while’. Needless to say it didn’t work and Mark reported a totally restful night and what the hell was I on about? Vic on the other hand is an absolute party animal and would be rolling into the Hotel at about the same time as we were having breakfast and would still look amazingly fresh as if she had not been out.