Giant Minecraft Darwinian!

The forum with all your Introversion News!
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:36 pm

Actually it's closer to 0 than forever, since at some point the signed integer containing the coordinates will overflow.

Although notch could make the world wrap around leaving it literally extending forever horisontally, but limiting your Darwinian potential regarding size, much like if you wanted to build it on Earth (which you do want but just can't find the time or stone to do).

Either way, if you intend to make a regularly sized (not ordinarily, but self-referentially proportionate) Darwinian, you will be limited by the height (which is at this point in time the width) of the Darwinian being 1/6th its width.

I'm not sure if the vertical limit is still 128 blocks/metres (something leads me to think it is 256), but assuming it is 256, the largest possible Darwinian with the same proportions as the current Mega-Darwinian would be 1536x1280x256 blocks/metres.
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:46 pm

zach wrote:I'm not sure if the vertical limit is still 128 blocks/metres (something leads me to think it is 256), but assuming it is 256, the largest possible Darwinian with the same proportions as the current Mega-Darwinian would be 1536x1280x256 blocks/metres.

The limit is 128. And you have the bedrock to consider, meaning the highest useful amount is 123.
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:52 pm

Yeah, I just tested it to be sure. It's 128 like you said. Does the bedrock really span 5 levels? I would have guessed 3.

It's still 768x640x128. Not quite as impressive, but still quite large. Quite large.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:28 pm

zach wrote:Actually it's closer to 0 than forever, since at some point the signed integer containing the coordinates will overflow.


That, and the server only has a limited amount of memory.

zach wrote:I'm not sure if the vertical limit is still 128 blocks/metres (something leads me to think it is 256)


I thought the same. I think 256 was the default setting for old classical maps.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
microchip08
level5
level5
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:37 pm
Contact:

Postby microchip08 » Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:16 pm

According to Notch, theoretically the world ends up being eight times the size of the Earth before overflows start happening (on 16x16x128 chunks, at least).
User avatar
ChemicalRascal
level1
level1
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:55 pm

Postby ChemicalRascal » Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:50 am

I think he said that such a map, fully generated, would be several hundred terabytes. I think. I'll find the quote when I get home.
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:50 am

You certainly work/study a long way from home, ChemicalRascal :D
User avatar
ChemicalRascal
level1
level1
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:55 pm

Postby ChemicalRascal » Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:08 am

Well, it's longer when you forget about it, your computer goes into a coma, the computer guys can't help you, you're faced with loosing all your data, and you end up having to sink to the depths of using a Linux Live CD to save her...

I mean, come on. Linux, for Gates' sake. :P

Anyway, as for the quote; Turns out I lied, and it was something that was said on the wiki:

http://www.minecraftwiki.net/wiki/Alpha_Level_Format

And, indeed, that number is only given as a statistic as to why Notch had to create a new level format.

So I lied, people. I lied! I can't go on with this charade any longer!
User avatar
Major Cooke
level4
level4
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:35 am

Postby Major Cooke » Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:22 am

Xocrates, did you use dynamite by chance to help clear the areas around it?

Also, how many picks do you think you wound up using just making that thing?
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:42 am

We used loads of (admin provided) dynamite for the digging, and since we used the multiplayer bug that allows us to fix tools I don't think each person ever used more than one pickaxe :P No idea how many we would have used if we didn't though.
hogiagree
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Where ñan I create a website free of charge?

Postby hogiagree » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:45 pm

I have an idea to create a website but I need some help. Does anyone know where can I create a website for free? It is very important.
User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:52 pm

Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.

Return to “Introversion News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest