Defcon on PS3 Yellow Dog

Technical support for all issues relating to Defcon Linux

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
sfericz
level5
level5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Defcon on PS3 Yellow Dog

Postby sfericz » Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:22 am

I'm wondering if it would be possible to run Defcon on my PS3? I can install and operate Linux verison Yellow Dog on it so it should be possible right?
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16866
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:33 am

I don't know much about the underlying architecture of a PS3, but I am going to go out on a limb and guess that it is different enough that Defcon would require a recompile. Hence, my guess would be that the answer to your question is "no."

xander
User avatar
sfericz
level5
level5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby sfericz » Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:51 am

Its terrible if I can't. I miss playing.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Fri Mar 19, 2010 9:08 am

Just wait for it to come out on PSN.
User avatar
sfericz
level5
level5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby sfericz » Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:34 am

Where have I been? Has this been announced to public and whats the time frame?

The only worry I would have is not being able to play PC user on PSN.

BTW my PSN ID is sfericz if anyone wants toadd me.
microchip08
level5
level5
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:37 pm
Contact:

Postby microchip08 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:56 pm

xander wrote:I don't know much about the underlying architecture of a PS3, but I am going to go out on a limb and guess that it is different enough that Defcon would require a recompile. Hence, my guess would be that the answer to your question is "no."

xander


4000th post, apparently. Although I thought you had waaay more than that.
User avatar
sfericz
level5
level5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby sfericz » Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:50 pm

I believe that count is for only Defcon's forum. But if you look in the lounge or IV's forum index, he'll have a larger post count because all of his post from the sub forums will be added.


(Notice I only have 930 posts here. But I still have the 1000 post badge.)
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16866
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:49 pm

microchip08 wrote:
xander wrote:I don't know much about the underlying architecture of a PS3, but I am going to go out on a limb and guess that it is different enough that Defcon would require a recompile. Hence, my guess would be that the answer to your question is "no."

xander


4000th post, apparently. Although I thought you had waaay more than that.

The post count seen here is only the post count for the Defcon forums.

xander
microchip08
level5
level5
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:37 pm
Contact:

Postby microchip08 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 5:28 pm

xander wrote:
microchip08 wrote:
xander wrote:I don't know much about the underlying architecture of a PS3, but I am going to go out on a limb and guess that it is different enough that Defcon would require a recompile. Hence, my guess would be that the answer to your question is "no."

xander


4000th post, apparently. Although I thought you had waaay more than that.

The post count seen here is only the post count for the Defcon forums.

xander


Curse this strange complicated forum setup!

(ooh. Resized avatar. Saves me having to do it...)
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Sat Mar 20, 2010 5:39 pm

sfericz wrote:Where have I been? Has this been announced to public and whats the time frame?
"Slipped" would be the more accurate term. One of the IV guys, can't remember who, accidentally revealed it in an interview.

sfericz wrote:The only worry I would have is not being able to play PC user on PSN.
I don't think there will be cross platform play. If only for the reason that you're likely to have a much harder time micromanaging stuff with the controller. Unless, of course, it will use Move. And the Sonly marketing guys should totally be shot for not having tried to use that name in a few normal sentences before choosing it.
User avatar
sfericz
level5
level5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby sfericz » Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm

bert_the_turtle wrote:I don't think there will be cross platform play. If only for the reason that you're likely to have a much harder time micromanaging stuff with the controller. Unless, of course, it will use Move.
I can use amouse and keyboard with my PS3 but I don't know about them registering during game play.

If that is the case, I will be running a HUGE gorllia marketing campaign to get the PSN users, in the communities I run in, to atleast try it out. I k already have three guys from Modern Warfare intrested and downloading the PC demo version.

I wonder if they will supply a demo for PSN, just as the PC version.

Sorry for my bad spelling, I don't feel like hooking up my keyboard. :lol:

Return to “Linux Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest